Roland - AP-7 Jet Phaser  [schematic]

All about modern commercial stompbox circuits from Electro Harmonix over MXR, Boss and Ibanez into the nineties.

Roland - AP-7 Jet Phaser  [schematic]

Postby modman » 17 Sep 2007, 08:47

Aharon contributed this PDF from the service manual containing pcb layouts, block diagram and construction notes.

Roland AP-7 Phaser service notes

thanks so much for sharing!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"The whole point of diy is diy. It's not dsoiyathodtr - do some of it yourself and then have others do the rest" (paulc)
User avatar
modman
a d m i n
 
Posts: 4298
Joined: 19 Jun 2007, 17:57
Has thanked: 3107 times
Have thanks: 546 times

Postby Aharon » 19 Sep 2007, 20:55

Welcome !!!

Maybe somebody can figure out the off board wiring,I couldn't.....
Aharon :oops:

For this message the author Aharon has received thanks:
modman (07 Jan 2018, 12:35)
Aharon
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 187
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 00:39
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 8 times

Postby analogguru » 04 Dec 2007, 22:17

OK, Aharon: you want to figure out the offboard-wiring ?

Have a look here, but: caution that you don´t get nuts, from the highres guts:

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/9421/jp1dm9.jpg
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/579/jp2on7.jpg
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/6397/ph3ui2.jpg
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/5964/ph9fw5.jpg
http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/2210/ph10lc4.jpg

Could you smell the vintage electronic ? :wink:

analogguru
There´s a sucker born every minute - and too many of them end up in the bootweak pedal biz.
analogguru
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 3285
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 14:58
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 116 times

Postby Aharon » 05 Dec 2007, 04:30

Thanks for those shots analogguru!!!!!!
Snifffffffffff........yes I can smell the old electronics.........ahhhhhhh......
Thanks
Aharon
Aharon
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 187
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 00:39
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 8 times

Postby MrHuge » 09 Dec 2007, 21:25

Wow! how things travel on the net... That looks suspiciously like the copy of the AP7 schematic I scanned! Cool...

Here are more...

http://www.aronnelson.com/gallery/v/MrHuge/album102/

-Mr. Huge

For this message the author MrHuge has received thanks:
modman (29 Aug 2011, 14:37)
User avatar
MrHuge
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 05 Nov 2007, 23:56
Location: Los Angeles, California, U.S.A.
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 45 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby Stompmodder » 09 Jul 2008, 14:11

modman wrote:Aharon contributed this PDF from the service manual containing pcb layouts, block diagram and construction notes.

Roland AP-7 Phaser service notes

thanks so much for sharing!



Just wondering if someone have the schematic of this pedal. Thanks
Stompmodder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 May 2008, 21:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby IggY » 09 Jul 2008, 15:16

Just read this thread one more time to stop wondering.
IggY
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 14:28
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby Bernardduur » 09 Jul 2008, 16:03

Can someone tell me why this unit sounds so good on bass? I've tried (too much) phasers on bass but this was the only one that stood up my abuse / thoughts on how one should sound on bass.

Great unit btw!
'No more....... loud music.......'
Bernardduur
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 08:36
Location: Losser.........
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 482 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby Bernardduur » 09 Jul 2008, 18:50

I was looking into this subject now for a long time; need to build one for my bass use (as does Larry Graham)

There are 4 JET settings, 2 non jet setting and a fast / slow setting on which only the slow speed can be set by a potmeter

1 and 3 JET give shallow modulation (depth is determined by point 10 / 12)
2 and 4 JET give a deep modulation

Difference between 1-2 and 3-4 are the JET EQ; one has mids, one lacks it.

5 and 6 are just shallow and deep modulation without the JET

You can make these changes more easily switchable with individual switches.
'No more....... loud music.......'
Bernardduur
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 08:36
Location: Losser.........
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 482 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby littleBloona » 10 Jul 2008, 00:39

Bernardduur wrote:Can someone tell me why this unit sounds so good on bass? I've tried (too much) phasers on bass but this was the only one that stood up my abuse / thoughts on how one should sound on bass.

Great unit btw!


What a difference two diodes can make :arrow:
littleBloona
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 08 Apr 2008, 23:07
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby chicago_mike » 10 Jul 2008, 12:49

I get a 4040 error when trying to see the gut shots..can some one pm them to me or email me the gut shots?

Or are they uploaded elsewhere?
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 279 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby lynessmy » 25 Jul 2008, 10:33

I have the TRACE side...downloaded from somewhere...but no component side.....
lynessmy
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 09 Oct 2007, 02:15
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby chicago_mike » 29 Jul 2008, 05:41

Ill take it. :) Im itchin to clone this thing. Larry Graham uses this to great effect. 8)
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 279 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby analogguru » 29 Jul 2008, 07:37

chicago_mike wrote:Ill take it. :) Im itchin to clone this thing. Larry Graham uses this to great effect. 8)

Are you really that greedy, man ? :wink:
Ok, here you go for the track side..... and as a "bonus track" you will get the component side too, taken by ebay user "coastal.a.a".

analogguru
There´s a sucker born every minute - and too many of them end up in the bootweak pedal biz.
analogguru
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 3285
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 14:58
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 116 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby NoGlory » 14 Mar 2009, 13:03

Does somebody maybe have a PCB layout? I'm going to clone this thingy, but the less the work, the better :applause:
NoGlory
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 18:47
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby lynessmy » 13 Apr 2009, 04:27

NoGlory wrote:Does somebody maybe have a PCB layout? I'm going to clone this thingy, but the less the work, the better :applause:


This is all i have. NO layout.
Let me know if you manage to work this out.

Again, this is downloaded from somewhere which i couldn't recall now. If anyone know where is the origin, give him a credit.

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

For this message the author lynessmy has received thanks:
pedalgrinder (31 Mar 2013, 12:53)
lynessmy
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 09 Oct 2007, 02:15
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby chicago_mike » 15 Apr 2009, 18:34

Hey....

What size do I need to alter this too, so it doesn't print out a full page sized pcb? I hope to get this etched today. :)
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 279 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby lynessmy » 19 Apr 2009, 16:17

use the width of the DIL IC....the distance between 2 rows is 7.5mm. Scale it....
lynessmy
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 09 Oct 2007, 02:15
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby chicago_mike » 27 Oct 2009, 03:05

Okay i printed this out but it came out all fuzzy..I forgot its at 72dpi resolution...TERRIBLE.


So I resized the image to 5.5inches..letf the constrain portions on, 5.5 inches mind you. ANd set resolution to 1200 dpi.

I think I did the resolution first though. Did a little cleaning up with levels (photoshop again)

now I think it should print nice and clear. Still at 1200 dpi though normal 8.5x11 is 300 dpi. So just a little more adjusting and we have ourselves a rpintable pcb of the jetphase.

Now there IS a second board but I think thats for the speed control, and just a few components I can do on a breadboard, or vero or whatever. :)

next step is to be able to print 2 on a sheet of photopaper..or some cheap glossy paper that will still dosolve in water. I want to try to find a mixture of something that will help disolve the paper but leave the toner....
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 279 times

Re: Roland - AP-7 Phaser

Postby lynessmy » 30 Oct 2009, 10:01

Hi...chicago_mike....i was a noob at the resolution thingy.
Appreciated if you have some guide or any link to share to get thru that, especially how to play with PHOTOSHOP for RESOLUTION and SIZE.
TQ
lynessmy
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 09 Oct 2007, 02:15
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Next

Return to Modern Stompbox Effects (1975 - ...)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marmaliser, temol and 3 guests