BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

A forum devoted to mod, tips and suggestions for upgrading and rehousing your VERY CHEAP commercial stompbox to near boutique excellence.

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby Rockprocess » 09 Feb 2011, 22:52

Will the DD-3 mods work for a DD-5? Are the resistors/caps labeled with the same numbers?
Rockprocess
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 May 2010, 17:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby Greenmachine » 10 Feb 2011, 00:35

Has anybody replaced SMD resistors/caps with through-hole parts yet on a DD3a or DD3B? I'm thinking about doing this so I'd like to hear your approach?

Do you just tin the leads on a resistor and solder them onto the teensy-weensy smd pads? Or perhaps you take your teensyweensy drill bit and drill holes? Maybe you don't even attempt to replace smd with "normal" components? Do tell.
"[Y]ou want sketchy, dude? I breadboard on a door." -- RnFR, 2011
"This amp is freakin loud, like crazy, I'm going to kill pets loud." -- mich, 2011
User avatar
Greenmachine
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 31 Aug 2008, 18:59
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 102 times
Have thanks: 19 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby JiM » 10 Feb 2011, 01:12

Greenmachine wrote:Has anybody replaced SMD resistors/caps with through-hole parts yet on a DD3a or DD3B? I'm thinking about doing this so I'd like to hear your approach?

Do you just tin the leads on a resistor and solder them onto the teensy-weensy smd pads? Or perhaps you take your teensyweensy drill bit and drill holes? Maybe you don't even attempt to replace smd with "normal" components? Do tell.

Why would you want to do that ? In general, SMD components are not especially lower quality than through-hole components ... if you're just about mojo, leave the poor thing alone !
Oh, maybe i got it wrong : are you talking about changing them all, or just modding a couple of them for filtering the repeats ?

Drilling tiny holes is out of question, it's too small and you might break copper traces on the other side. Maybe you could use nearby vias, if they're not too small, and if they exist where you need them.
Soldering component leads on SMD "lands" would work from an electrical point of view, but hardly from a mechanical point of view. You would have to glue the big components somewhere, and maybe use some thin wire (like coil wire or wire-wrap) to connect the leads to the solder pads.

In the end, it might require more skills and patience than using adequate SMD components.
User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Location: France
Has thanked: 28 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby Greenmachine » 10 Feb 2011, 01:43

JiM wrote:
Greenmachine wrote:Has anybody replaced SMD resistors/caps with through-hole parts yet on a DD3a or DD3B? I'm thinking about doing this so I'd like to hear your approach?

Do you just tin the leads on a resistor and solder them onto the teensy-weensy smd pads? Or perhaps you take your teensyweensy drill bit and drill holes? Maybe you don't even attempt to replace smd with "normal" components? Do tell.

Why would you want to do that ? In general, SMD components are not especially lower quality than through-hole components ... if you're just about mojo, leave the poor thing alone !
Oh, maybe i got it wrong : are you talking about changing them all, or just modding a couple of them for filtering the repeats ?
.


Ha-ha! That's hilarious. I don't care about mojo. I just want to do the mods contained in this thread with what I've got around. I don't have any SMD parts around. Interesting idea about the coil wire...
"[Y]ou want sketchy, dude? I breadboard on a door." -- RnFR, 2011
"This amp is freakin loud, like crazy, I'm going to kill pets loud." -- mich, 2011
User avatar
Greenmachine
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 31 Aug 2008, 18:59
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 102 times
Have thanks: 19 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby JiM » 12 Feb 2011, 01:42

Greenmachine wrote:Ha-ha! That's hilarious. I don't care about mojo. I just want to do the mods contained in this thread with what I've got around.
:blackeye
Greenmachine wrote:I don't have any SMD parts around. Interesting idea about the coil wire...

When it's done with larger ICs, this technique is called "dead bug prototyping".

Image

Another example (althrough that bug looks still alive) : http://www.geocities.jp/arduino_diecimi ... ex_en.html
User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Location: France
Has thanked: 28 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby Greenmachine » 12 Feb 2011, 02:13

"Is this a school for ants?! How are the children supposed to learn if they can't even fit inside the building?" --Derek Zoolander.

That Arduino looks like it was built by ants. Somebody's got a veeeeery steady hand. Thanks for pic and link. Most informative.
:hug:
"[Y]ou want sketchy, dude? I breadboard on a door." -- RnFR, 2011
"This amp is freakin loud, like crazy, I'm going to kill pets loud." -- mich, 2011
User avatar
Greenmachine
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 31 Aug 2008, 18:59
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 102 times
Have thanks: 19 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby sonoman1979 » 13 Jan 2012, 19:42

Hi everybody, I would like to know if there is a mod to get more headroom on the DD3, because mine works fine on guitar input but when I use it on the effects loop I can hear some unwanted clipping. Thanks.

Julio
sonoman1979
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 07:12
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby corbi » 13 Feb 2012, 20:10

hello all

im new to this forum so hello!

i did the dd3(a) mods last night and all sounded good. i came down in the morning, did the pedal back up and tightened the jacks.
plugged back in and all was dead. there's a signal through to get a clean guitar, but it doesnt engage the delay. not repeats, no led. im assuming its an input/power problem?
i noticed the negative (black wire) from the battery had come loose. still attached to the battery but loose the other end.
where does this go, and will this bring life back to my pedal? (incidentally, im using the mains 9v input, not the battery)
does anyone have or know of a website with the wiring schematic?

it is the pink labelled DD 3a.

thanks for any help
Adam
corbi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Feb 2012, 20:00
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby lolbou » 04 Oct 2013, 14:20

I just did Bajaman's mods on the DD-3b. Sounds nice indeed. Sweeter echoes for sure. I don't know if the procedure already exists online for this unit, but identifying the components is easy with the DD-3 schematic on hand.

If you want to perform these, here are the guidelines, as Bajaman's suggest:

- change R9 (33k) to 10k.
- change R50 (47k) to 22k.
- change C51 (1µF/50V) to 10n film cap.
- add 100n film cap across E.LEVEL potentiometer (lug 1 and 3).

Here's R9 (see black arrow) close to IC1 on the upper left of the PCB (seen from above):
IMG_3390.JPG

Here's R50 (see black arrow) close to IC2 (compander) on the upper right:
IMG_3394.JPG

And on the potentiometer board, C51 and the extra 100n capacitor:
IMG_3393.JPG
IMG_3392.JPG


I did desolder the yellow wire coming to pad 14 to have more space. Remove the jacks/LED and potentiometer board. Resistors are 0603 SMD ones. Not that hard to remove, and cheap. I did salvage mine from a dead RV-5. Not that clean, but not too bad either considering my equipment and skills, and continuity was checked before assembling the unit again anyway.

Hope this helps! Thanks Bajaman for this mod! :wink:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2701
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 342 times
Have thanks: 233 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby Dominik1986 » 10 Oct 2013, 12:36

Really cool, guess I should get a DD-2 to perform the Mod :)
Just curious what Pete Cornish is doing in his TES. Like the Delay Timex4 Switch and the Bandwidth Selector. Would be interesting :)
Dominik1986
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 10 Jul 2011, 08:33
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby robinbowes » 27 Oct 2013, 02:08

Am gonna try this on my DD-2.

I guess this might be useful:

http://www.synfo.nl/servicemanuals/Boss ... _NOTES.pdf

R.
robinbowes
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:07
Location: Huby, York, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby robinbowes » 27 Oct 2013, 12:53

Even more useful, I knocked up a couple of images to show the component locations more easily. The original component values are shown in brackets.

Am not sure what's happening with the images, but something seems to be restricting the width of the first one - it opens fine if you right-click and open the image in a new window/tab.

R.

Image

Image
robinbowes
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:07
Location: Huby, York, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby robinbowes » 27 Oct 2013, 17:13

Just done this to my DD-2. I'd forgotten how tight Boss PCBs are, and how small the components are that they use.

No major drama though - job done.

R.
robinbowes
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:07
Location: Huby, York, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby sinner » 27 Oct 2013, 19:05

robinbowes wrote:Just done this to my DD-2. I'd forgotten how tight Boss PCBs are, and how small the components are that they use.

No major drama though - job done.

R.



How do you like it then? :)
sinner
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 4812
Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 18:16
Location: ...no more
Has thanked: 1239 times
Have thanks: 1098 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby robinbowes » 27 Oct 2013, 20:26

If I'm absolutely honest, I can't remember what it used to sound like so am not sure how much difference it has made. :)

The DD-2 sounded sweet anyway, and it still does...

R.
robinbowes
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:07
Location: Huby, York, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby DonDougie » 29 Apr 2014, 14:41

I recently bought a used DD3 with the intention to mod it, but apparently there is a new, all SMT revision C with a new chipset. The pots are all 50kb and have control voltages on them, so the cap across the pot mod is history :(

Does anyone have a schematic for Rev.C? I can only find the older ones. Analogman still mods these, so it should be possible to find a point on the board where to do the high-cut.
DonDougie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 20 Nov 2011, 14:47
Has thanked: 20 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby JiM » 07 May 2014, 00:04

Some info about the different versions of DD3 :
http://stinkfoot.se/archives/516
But you probably know that already.

There is a service manual somewhere : http://servicerepairmanuals.net/others/ ... ce-manual/

EDIT : There it is !
http://www.synfo.nl/servicemanuals/Boss/DD-3T_SERVICE_NOTES_3rd.pdf
User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Location: France
Has thanked: 28 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby severthee » 17 Jun 2015, 12:31

hi, i also have the dd-3c board. seems like all the pots now are voltage controllers. anybody tried modding this version? heard analogman was able to do so.

thanks
severthee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Jan 2009, 17:50
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby MilesXC » 07 Feb 2017, 14:59

Just tried this on my DSD3 and it's saved me a purchase, thank you!
Really happy with the results.
Have lost the self osc, but still have plenty enough repeats, and they match the input at 12 o'clock on the effects level, so you can make repeats louder than the original signal, which is great.
Very pleased.
Thank you x
User avatar
MilesXC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Apr 2011, 11:04
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BOSS DD2 or DD3 mods for tape echo sound

Postby MilesXC » 09 Oct 2017, 17:12

I've noticed the DSD-3 variation of the mod I did was letting sound bleed through when bypassed.
Having checked the schematics it looks like instead of...
The numbers are different:
DD2 | DSD3
R14 | R17 (same value)
R33 | R30; value is 33k (47k in DD-2)
C26 | C25 (same value)


It is R36, not R30 that you swap out for 22k.
This brings back the self-osc too :)
User avatar
MilesXC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Apr 2011, 11:04
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Pimp-My-Cheap-Pedal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests