Soul Food modding a mod

A forum devoted to mod, tips and suggestions for upgrading and rehousing your VERY CHEAP commercial stompbox to near boutique excellence.
DanHalen
Information

Post by DanHalen »

Hello, this will be my first post. So I hope I make a good impression. Anyway, I am new to modding. I started out by modding my Soul Food. I wanted a fatter sound, so I added an on/off/on switch, and piggy-backed additional capacitors to the existing cap on the board with either on position while retaining the stock sound when in the off position.

Here is my question: is it possible to add a clipping diode circuit on one side of the switch in order to add additional distortion in that position?

dv8r601
Breadboard Brother
Information
my favorite amplifier: Peavey ranger 212

Post by dv8r601 »

Yeah just use a dpdt switch.
Take wires from pads where diodes were on board and put them on lug 2 and lug 5 then add your pair on lug 1and lug 4 and another on lug 3 and lug 6

Kinda like the diagram in the lower part on this from Tagboardfx
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-7A9KuTfiRJw/U ... itches.png
Attachments
Klon Centaur Revision 2 with Soft Clipping and Fat Switches.png

DanHalen
Information

Post by DanHalen »

I am already out of real estate in this box. So I am trying to see if I can add the clipping circuit to the mod I put in. I added a poorly drawn illustration.
20180326_172244.jpg

dv8r601
Breadboard Brother
Information
my favorite amplifier: Peavey ranger 212

Post by dv8r601 »

The hunch I have is to say it's a no.