Boss Hyper Fuzz (FZ-2)

A forum devoted to mod, tips and suggestions for upgrading and rehousing your VERY CHEAP commercial stompbox to near boutique excellence.
sosodef
Solder Soldier
Information

Post by sosodef »

I sure don't quite understand how to remove the buffers and switching system. It would be cool to build a clone and tweak it. This was always a cool design.

k o y l
Information

Post by k o y l »

Is it possible and compllcated to re-housse it in a new box as it is ?
I'm a beginner at all this so unless I have a clear easy to understand diagram, I won't be able to change the boss switch for a true bypass switch... :oops:

I'd like to re-house it order to add a boost or/and battery sag circuit in the same pedal...

Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
Information

Post by Dirk_Hendrik »

Why would you remove the buffers???
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YVM-1
Completed builds: too many!

Post by soulsonic »

Dirk_Hendrik wrote:Why would you remove the buffers???
Yes, it certainly looks like they are an essential part of the circuit, even if the FET switching is changed to something else. The input buffer is a nice high-Z JFET too.

As Dirk mentioned in another thread some time ago; a clever person would use the existing soft switch/flip flop circuit to drive a relay for true bypass. I think that's a great idea, and I'd like to experiment with it myself. It would be a much better solution than hacking up a perfectly good pedal.
"Analog electronics in music is dead. Analog effects pedal design is a dead art." - Fran

k o y l
Information

Post by k o y l »

soulsonic wrote:
Dirk_Hendrik wrote:Why would you remove the buffers???