Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )  [schematic]

Discussion regarding early stompbox technology: 1960-1975 Please keep discussion focused and contribute what info you have...

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby Nocentelli » 01 Jan 2015, 10:11

Ignore that last point, I misread the diagram on my tiny phone screen.
mmolteratx wrote:absolutely zero commercial use allowed. If I find anyone selling these, I'll fly to your house and kick you in the nads. And you may or may not find yourself in trouble.
User avatar
Nocentelli
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: 09 Apr 2009, 08:06
Location: Leeds, UK
Has thanked: 776 times
Have thanks: 801 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 02 Jan 2015, 05:22

Nocentelli wrote:Happy new year! Yes, diagram is ok now, but I would disconnect the two ring lugs on the jacks (but leave the input ring connected to power negative): This way, you only need to unplug the input to cut the battery power.


Thanks. I've been trying all day to understand this but can't figure it out! Do you mean disconnect the input and output jack sleeve connection? Sorry for being obtuse!
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 02 Jan 2015, 05:35

Nocentelli wrote:Ignore that last point, I misread the diagram on my tiny phone screen.


Ha! I totally missed this post. Cool. Thanks again for your help. Can't wait to finish this build and hear this thing. ...This community is awesome.
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 16 Jan 2015, 20:48

still plugging on this... no sound yet.

i just noticed that the vero layout says the pinout is CBE! is that right? which transistors is this layout using? i thought they were SC1000s which AFAIU are ECB.

thanks!
-j
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby Nocentelli » 16 Jan 2015, 23:12

2N5088/9, 2N3904 pinout.
mmolteratx wrote:absolutely zero commercial use allowed. If I find anyone selling these, I'll fly to your house and kick you in the nads. And you may or may not find yourself in trouble.

For this message the author Nocentelli has received thanks:
jzilla (17 Jan 2015, 02:52)
User avatar
Nocentelli
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: 09 Apr 2009, 08:06
Location: Leeds, UK
Has thanked: 776 times
Have thanks: 801 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 25 Jan 2015, 23:27

jzilla wrote:Wiring Diagram v3:
[ Image ]
-j

WARNING: i got the battery/DC section wrong here. battery got VERY hot. still troubleshooting. :oops:
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby Nocentelli » 26 Jan 2015, 00:39

Is it just a short on the switching dc jack through swapping ground a battery +ve? I've heard that can happen :wink:
mmolteratx wrote:absolutely zero commercial use allowed. If I find anyone selling these, I'll fly to your house and kick you in the nads. And you may or may not find yourself in trouble.

For this message the author Nocentelli has received thanks:
jzilla (26 Jan 2015, 01:11)
User avatar
Nocentelli
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: 09 Apr 2009, 08:06
Location: Leeds, UK
Has thanked: 776 times
Have thanks: 801 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 26 Jan 2015, 01:11

Nocentelli wrote:Is it just a short on the switching dc jack through swapping ground a battery +ve? I've heard that can happen :wink:


haha. yeah, i think so. looks like i connected battery neg to DC tip instead of DC sleeve. still no go on the pedal though! not even an LED light... tested the battery and it's good. double checked the wiring, checked the vero layout and electrolytics orientation. also used the MM to test the switch continuity!

i guess next step is to reflow all solder? even if the trannies were fried (will test those as well) the LED would still get power, right?

thanks!
-j
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 26 Jan 2015, 01:13

i mean i connected bat neg to DC sleeve instead of DC tip. :/
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 08 Dec 2016, 23:30

Resurrecting this thread after having given up for nearly two years.

Today I decided to take another stab. Turns out my issue is coming from the rotary switch. I really can't understand why. Attached is a picture of what I'm doing with it (mounted to another vero board to deal with space limitations). Maybe I need to ground it?

image.jpeg


Another thought I had is to use a small 3 way toggle instead.

Appreciate any suggestions!

Thanks!
-j
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 09 Dec 2016, 00:49

P.S. Here's the rotary switch I'm using
http://smallbear-electronics.mybigcomme ... 1240801556

Thanks!
-j
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 21 Dec 2016, 07:17

I think I'm close. I swapped out the rotary switch for a SP3T. That's working now.

But the LED only works when a battery is plugged in regardless of whether i'm using DC power or not. Would someone mind taking a quick look at my wiring diagram and tell me what I'm doing wrong? I keep hitting the wall of my knowledge, not hard to do.

AD50 Wiring Diagram v5.jpg


Hugely appreciated!
-j
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby johnk » 23 Dec 2016, 04:49

i built one a while ago and i really dig this fuzz:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
johnk
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 05 Apr 2010, 08:33
Has thanked: 29 times
Have thanks: 239 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby johnk » 23 Dec 2016, 04:51

and here's my layout for it:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
johnk
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 05 Apr 2010, 08:33
Has thanked: 29 times
Have thanks: 239 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 23 Dec 2016, 19:15

Wow! That looks incredible. There is some real skill on this forum.
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 25 Dec 2016, 02:51

Solved it! Here's the working wiring.
Cheers!
-j

AD50 Wiring v6.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby aishabag23 » 25 Dec 2016, 16:54

jzilla wrote:Solved it! Here's the working wiring.
Cheers!
-j

AD50 Wiring v6.jpeg


Awesome! It always feels good to finally figure it out. :applause:

For this message the author aishabag23 has received thanks:
jzilla (25 Dec 2016, 18:17)
User avatar
aishabag23
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 19:43
Has thanked: 64 times
Have thanks: 10 times

Re: Roland - AD-50 ( Double Beat )

Postby jzilla » 25 Dec 2016, 18:19

aishabag23 wrote:Awesome! It always feels good to finally figure it out. :applause:


Thanks! It really does. I've learned a ton debugging this project.
-j
jzilla
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 06 May 2008, 02:54
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Previous

Return to Vintage Stompbox Corner ( ... - 1975)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests