Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Tube or solid-state, this section goes to eleven!

Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby tedsorvino » 03 Nov 2017, 00:15

I would like to know if there is a safe way to switch between 2 guitar cabinets?
I'm using a 60W tube (fender style amp) and I would like to build an A/B (or even A+B) (foot)switcher box to chose between 2 cabinets (Both 8 ohm).
I know the Radial box but it's way too expensive for me.
I've heard of a switcher that uses relays, but I haven't got any clear information.
I've also read about a passive box with resistors and a switch but it's not exactly what I was thinking since it's working only with the amp bypassed.
Any ideas, info or layouts (or schematic) on how to build such a box would be much appreciated.
tedsorvino
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22 Jul 2015, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby strato56 » 15 Nov 2017, 19:49

Any relay that can handle the current ( 60W in 8 Ohm gives 2.7A , so go for 5A ) will do the job. Be sure not to hit the strings when switching, the amp must have no output when switching, because for a fraction of time, your tube-amp will see no load.
strato56
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 15:41
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby BlueMeany » 15 Nov 2017, 20:12

Just go for it using some decent (well over spec!) relays.

I've used a system like this for years without it ever causing any issues on any valve amp I've been tinkering with. The split second no load thing has never been an issue - and I've had 400W bass amps running through it.
BlueMeany
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Jun 2012, 23:56
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby bmxguitarsbmx » 15 Nov 2017, 20:21

BlueMeany wrote:Just go for it using some decent (well over spec!) relays.

I've used a system like this for years without it ever causing any issues on any valve amp I've been tinkering with. The split second no load thing has never been an issue - and I've had 400W bass amps running through it.


Technically that is quite dangerous. Some years ago someone did a "spark gap" test with a similar setup.

You could easily use a SPDT relay to alternately short out a cabinet and have a "split second Series load" situation. Using a "make-before-break" switch, where the output is shorted, would also be safer.
bmxguitarsbmx
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 22:15
Has thanked: 180 times
Have thanks: 62 times

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby tedsorvino » 22 Nov 2017, 18:40

Thank you both bmxguitarsbmx and BlueMeany for your replies.

1)Could you please share a layout or schematic and specs for the relays?
2)Why relays and not heavy duty switches (like car dimmer switches) ?
3) Is it possible to make it A, B, Y with two relays?
4)What about the MBB switch? Where in the circuit? What specs?
tedsorvino
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22 Jul 2015, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby Aharon » 02 Dec 2017, 02:55

Aiken had a page on his site way back with a cab switcher,send him an email or visit the site might still be there.
Aharon
Aharon
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 00:39
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 24 times
Have thanks: 7 times

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby BlueMeany » 02 Dec 2017, 18:23

bmxguitarsbmx wrote:
BlueMeany wrote:Just go for it using some decent (well over spec!) relays.

I've used a system like this for years without it ever causing any issues on any valve amp I've been tinkering with. The split second no load thing has never been an issue - and I've had 400W bass amps running through it.


Technically that is quite dangerous. Some years ago someone did a "spark gap" test with a similar setup.

You could easily use a SPDT relay to alternately short out a cabinet and have a "split second Series load" situation. Using a "make-before-break" switch, where the output is shorted, would also be safer.


I've used it on probably hundreds of amps, switching them thousands of times between cabs. Never had any problems. It's tried and tested 100%.
BlueMeany
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Jun 2012, 23:56
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time


Return to Amplifiers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests