Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Tube or solid-state, this section goes to eleven!

Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby tedsorvino » 03 Nov 2017, 00:15

I would like to know if there is a safe way to switch between 2 guitar cabinets?
I'm using a 60W tube (fender style amp) and I would like to build an A/B (or even A+B) (foot)switcher box to chose between 2 cabinets (Both 8 ohm).
I know the Radial box but it's way too expensive for me.
I've heard of a switcher that uses relays, but I haven't got any clear information.
I've also read about a passive box with resistors and a switch but it's not exactly what I was thinking since it's working only with the amp bypassed.
Any ideas, info or layouts (or schematic) on how to build such a box would be much appreciated.
tedsorvino
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Jul 2015, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby strato56 » 15 Nov 2017, 19:49

Any relay that can handle the current ( 60W in 8 Ohm gives 2.7A , so go for 5A ) will do the job. Be sure not to hit the strings when switching, the amp must have no output when switching, because for a fraction of time, your tube-amp will see no load.
strato56
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 15:41
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby BlueMeany » 15 Nov 2017, 20:12

Just go for it using some decent (well over spec!) relays.

I've used a system like this for years without it ever causing any issues on any valve amp I've been tinkering with. The split second no load thing has never been an issue - and I've had 400W bass amps running through it.
BlueMeany
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Jun 2012, 23:56
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Ideas, layouts, schematics CABINET SWITCHER?

Postby bmxguitarsbmx » 15 Nov 2017, 20:21

BlueMeany wrote:Just go for it using some decent (well over spec!) relays.

I've used a system like this for years without it ever causing any issues on any valve amp I've been tinkering with. The split second no load thing has never been an issue - and I've had 400W bass amps running through it.


Technically that is quite dangerous. Some years ago someone did a "spark gap" test with a similar setup.

You could easily use a SPDT relay to alternately short out a cabinet and have a "split second Series load" situation. Using a "make-before-break" switch, where the output is shorted, would also be safer.
bmxguitarsbmx
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 22:15
Has thanked: 176 times
Have thanks: 61 times


Return to Amplifiers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests