Two-Rock and Carvin Belair

Tube or solid-state, this section goes to eleven!
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by DWBH »

ATTENTION: I'm not asking for schematics. Though I wouldn't mind.

I LOVE John Mayer's tone. Seems he's using his Signature Two-Rock amp - which is a Custom Reverb Sig amp with some mods. I've seen him also with a Bassman (Victoria, not Fender, I think).

What are these Two-Rock amps based on?

Completely new design?
Or something based on the Fender eras? Blackface, Brownface?

These amps seem to have the headroom of a Blackface, but not as bright or as "cold". They seem more hot (though punchy), like a Tweed.

Now, I'm a noob about tubes and amps, so please correct me if I said sth wrong. :P

----

What about the Carvin Belair?

bajaman
Old Solderhand
Information

Post by bajaman »

I have the Carvin BelAir schematic - email me baja002@clear.net.nz if you want it :wink:
bajaman

DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by DWBH »

bajaman wrote:I have the Carvin BelAir schematic - email me baja002@clear.net.nz if you want it :wink:
bajaman
So done :D :D

vanessa
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by vanessa »

DWBH wrote: What are these Two-Rock amps based on?
Most likely some Fender variant. Just about everything has its roots in some Fender design or another.

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YVM-1
Completed builds: too many!

Post by soulsonic »

$10,000 for the Overdrive Signature?!!!!
It doesn't look like no $10,000 amp... looks like my prices just went up to $15,000... :P

chris_d
Solder Soldier
Information

Post by chris_d »

vanessa wrote:
Most likely some Fender variant. Just about everything has its roots in some Fender design or another.
Specifically they are a continuation of the development of the Dumble-style Fender variant. Those Two Rock guys get cranky when you call them Dumble clones, but they are basically coming straight from that framework.

-chris

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information