Introduction, and RF Interference Question

Anything non-technical you want to talk about, talk it over and have beer ...

Introduction, and RF Interference Question

Postby DrRogersA » 16 Nov 2015, 15:32

Greetings, all. I originally tried to post this in the debugging forum, but for some reason it wouldn't let me post a new topic (probably because I haven't posted anything before).

Quick introduction: I am new to building stomp boxes, and I fear I have become addicted. I am actually an Electrical/Computer engineer (BS in Electrical, PhD in Computer). I worked with all this stuff in college and was able to solve test problems and make straight As, but I had no idea how to actually apply this analogue stuff to anything. The vast majority of my professional experience has involved writing software, so until I got into building my guitar and then stomp boxes, I had not looked at an analogue circuit in about 12 years. But now everything is starting to make sense, and I am one happy camper.

So now for a question: what can be done to reduce/eliminate AM radio interference? For my first build, I put together the Tonefiend Bad*ss Distortion (based on the Electra Distortion, http://www.seymourduncan.com/tonefiend/ ... -4-v03.pdf ). I used a 2N5089 tranny. At high gains, I'm picking up a local AM radio station (Tejano music is nice, but doesn't go well with the blues). The interference was pretty bad on the breadboard. I thought that mounting it in a metal enclosure would rid me of that interference, but it did not.

For my second build, I have breadboarded a Bazz Fuss ( http://home-wrecker.com/bazz.html ) using two 2N3904 trannies wired up as a Darlington. Once again, I am getting that same Tejano radio station at high gains. It's not quite as bad as with the distortion build, but I would like to eliminate it if at all possible.