The first and last time i bought a pedal kit (and thanks)

Anything non-technical you want to talk about, talk it over and have beer ...

The first and last time i bought a pedal kit (and thanks)

Postby Timpanogos Slim » 22 Aug 2017, 18:11

I've been building electronics for more than 20 years but only recently got into this guitar stuff.

late last year i bought a kit on either ebay or aliexpress (I forget) to build a DS-1 alike dstortion pedal, the "TTone Dragon" from some chinese vendor.

It was a horrible, unsatisfying experience that inspired me to finish streamlining my pcb etching process, finish construction of a miniature drill press for drilling PCBs, etc.

What i got was a pretty enclosure, some pots, some knobs, a 3pdt stomp switch with wire lugs, and a single-sided board that was clearly designed for a board-mounted dpdt stomp. A bag of board-level parts and a meter or so of red wire. Really nice jacks though.

The included instructions just gave the positions on the board for the components and a list of positions on the board that are unused or should be jumpered. No schematic, no wiring diagram for the off-board components.

The board itself is, uh, terrible. single-sided with really thin copper and pads that like to pop off the board. It's not my iron temperature or technique - I've been at this for more than 20 years and i religiously use a Weller TC series iron with a 700f conical tip. It's just a really cheaply made board.

Ultimately i begged the seller for more information and got a series of photos of a partially and fully assembled unit and a pdf showing a different board with a similar circuit with a wiring diagram and errors and nonsensical stuff in the schematic.

I only just got it working yesterday after realizing that some of the photos of the complete unit show what are in retrospect mistakes in the assembly. On their side - there is no possibility that the unit they took pictures of worked the way they photographed it.