StripMagic 0.1b

Digital tools for electronic work: software for pcb design, schematic drawing, circuit simulation, parts inventory tools, ...

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 05 Oct 2009, 14:53

Nope I have to check this.

It should resize with the window. I'll investigate.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 05 Oct 2009, 14:55

Mmm.. I just set up a board 50x50 no problems displaying that.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 05 Oct 2009, 16:16

hrmmm.....well that was on my work computer (Vista) which i probably shouldnt be creating layouts on anyway. I'll try on my home comp tonight and see.

Thanks again.... I think this thing kinda rules.
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 807
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 07 Oct 2009, 15:53

Small update

It is now possible to export a Bill of Materials in the File -> Export menu
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby culturejam » 09 Oct 2009, 04:34

For some reason, I can't delete trace cuts or really short jumpers.
User avatar
culturejam
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: 24 Feb 2008, 06:59
Has thanked: 458 times
Have thanks: 567 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 09 Oct 2009, 09:07

Well it's not your fault :D

I have to fix/still build this.

Expect an update soon
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 22 Oct 2009, 15:58

another suggestion....

On resistors spanning only one or two strips, it turns the resistor image vertical (as one would) but it's quite hard to read the resistor number then because the font is black and so is the resistor lead. maybe a font or color change?
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 807
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 22 Oct 2009, 16:08

Good point.

I'll try some different options (like white text outlined in black)
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 22 Oct 2009, 17:49

Also, trimpots would be a good option.
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 807
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 23 Oct 2009, 08:12

Yes, those are in progress. You can allready open .diy files with trimpots in it. (so a hack would be to put them in the .diy file manually ;) )
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby beliefspacestu » 09 Nov 2009, 18:35

Fantastic work, I've been looking for something like this for ages. Nice one.

Stu
beliefspacestu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Sep 2009, 16:53
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby jessej » 09 Nov 2009, 19:36

Works well in Mac OS X Version 10.5.8 with Java Version 12.4.0 (Platform Standard Edition 6) on my 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo macbook with the older GMA X3100 GPU.
User avatar
jessej
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 May 2009, 20:39
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 16 Nov 2009, 11:35

Hi,

I just did a quick release. The current version keeps unknown components when saving. This means all pots, and jacks and switches that were in the original diylc file will be kept when you save it again with stripmagic.

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 07 Jan 2010, 03:53

i can't get it to open DIYLC files at all. i get what looks like a tiny little board. you are saying that we should be able to open them and then save them in SM, right?
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 140 times
Have thanks: 172 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby culturejam » 07 Jan 2010, 05:16

RnFR wrote:i can't get it to open DIYLC files at all. i get what looks like a tiny little board. you are saying that we should be able to open them and then save them in SM, right?

Only the newer beta java version of DIYLC.
User avatar
culturejam
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: 24 Feb 2008, 06:59
Has thanked: 458 times
Have thanks: 567 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 07 Jan 2010, 08:09

Hi,

it only opens DIYLC files from the original version (eg. all the ones on bancika's website). The new beta files are not supported.
Also it saves them as thhe first version. There is no special StripMagic format.
I'm absolutely sure it works as I've tested it with loads of layouts from diy-fever (bancika's site)

If you still have trouble I'm interested. Perhaps you can send me the layout and I can see why it will not load.

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 08 Jan 2010, 04:37

ok, i'm using the java version on a mac.

also, i've been having some problems with it not saving projects properly. i lost a couple of layouts that way yesterday, so i think i'm going to have to go back to diylc for now. which bums me out, because i really like the checking function on this program.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 140 times
Have thanks: 172 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 08 Jan 2010, 10:16

That really is a bummer (I want you too use my program)
Could you elaborate a little on what you did ?
Did you create a new layout? or modified an existing one?
Any particular "odd" things you did?

Also did you get eny error messages?

What would greatly help is to turn the Java Console on, if there are errors they will show up in there and they would help me a lot.

In windows you go:

Start -> Run -> javaws -viewer


Then in the Java Control Panel that will show up (you can close the cache viewer window) there is a Tab labeled Advanced.
In the tree under Java Console, you can enable the Java Console.

Next time you start a Java program a separate window with the program output will show up.

This will not directly solve your problems, but might help me when you encounter a problem again. (so you can then see and post the actual error that occured)

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 63 times
Have thanks: 165 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby mictester » 11 Jan 2010, 00:39

~arph wrote:Hi guys,

Posted this at the other forum too. Here is a little something I've been working on lately. (I'n not 100% electronics, more like 50/50 with software engineering)

Still a work in progress, but I feel some of you might enjoy trying it out.

You need Java 1.6+ and a OpenGL enable gfx card. Then click this link:

http://www.friedair.com/stripmagic/start.jnlp

Regards,

Arnoud


I've just got around to trying this - it works really well under both Mandriva and Ubuntu Linux. Superb programme. I realise you have a few bugs to fix, but it's nearly there!
"Why is it humming?" "Because it doesn't know the words!"
User avatar
mictester
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2873
Joined: 11 Sep 2008, 21:29
Location: In the hills of North London
Has thanked: 32 times
Have thanks: 782 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 11 Jan 2010, 01:17

~arph wrote:That really is a bummer (I want you too use my program)
Could you elaborate a little on what you did ?
Did you create a new layout? or modified an existing one?
Any particular "odd" things you did?

Also did you get eny error messages?

What would greatly help is to turn the Java Console on, if there are errors they will show up in there and they would help me a lot.

In windows you go:

Start -> Run -> javaws -viewer


Then in the Java Control Panel that will show up (you can close the cache viewer window) there is a Tab labeled Advanced.
In the tree under Java Console, you can enable the Java Console.

Next time you start a Java program a separate window with the program output will show up.

This will not directly solve your problems, but might help me when you encounter a problem again. (so you can then see and post the actual error that occured)

Regards,

Arnoud

i was making a new layout, and no error messages. it was taking a little while to load as well. it could've just been a boneheaded mistake on my part. i'll give that java thing a try if i get a chance.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 140 times
Have thanks: 172 times

PreviousNext

Return to Software Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests