StripMagic 0.1b

Digital tools for electronic work: software for pcb design, schematic drawing, circuit simulation, parts inventory tools, ...

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 29 Jan 2010, 15:09

Hi All,

I found some time to work on this last evening.
I've made some updates available, which I hope you like.

New features:
- Place wires
- Place Potentiometer
- Place Timmers
- Select electrolyte size
- All components con now be placed offboard.
- Jumpers can be drawn at any angle
- Enter key in the value field of the component editor will save and exit
- PERFBOARD option selectable in the Board Properties dialog.

I hope you like it.

URL as always:

http://www.friedair.com/stripmagic/start.jnlp
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 01 Feb 2010, 17:02

Sneak peek:

Image
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 02 Feb 2010, 12:47

Breadboard option is available! :)
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby modman » 17 Feb 2010, 11:59

Nice works Arph, really... :applause:
"The whole point of diy is diy. It's not dsoiyathodtr - do some of it yourself and then have others do the rest" (paulc)
User avatar
modman
a d m i n
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 19 Jun 2007, 17:57
Has thanked: 2740 times
Have thanks: 478 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 17 Feb 2010, 14:25

yes, the latest version is working great! :mrgreen:
-------------
i spoke too soon. :?

i just was working on a layout, hit NEW, then SAVE, then tried to pull up the old layout(which i had saved previously), and a blank board came up. if i hit NEW, why did it automatically save it under the old file name? i also had a problem where the last time i used the save command on a layout, it didn't take. anybody else report a similar problem?
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 138 times
Have thanks: 170 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 17 Feb 2010, 15:58

I'll do some testing on this.
Meanwhile, if someone has some good icons for the components, or the skill to create some, I will be forever gratefull :D

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 22 Feb 2010, 18:02

Arnoud,

Thanks again for this! I use it all the time, and its a nice little tool that gets the job done simply and effectively. Has any thought been given to changing the component font so that parts are more easily identifiable? I mentioned it once before but when a resistor is in a "standing" position, the lead and the resistor indicator ("R2", for example) get kind of jumbled up.
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 807
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 22 Feb 2010, 19:58

it would be great to be able to adjust the size of the text for titles and the like as well.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 138 times
Have thanks: 170 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 22 Feb 2010, 21:44

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words. Fonts and text in general are a pain in the b:oops:tt in OpenGL.
What I really want on the components is text with an outline (like black text with a small white outline and the same inverted).

Adjusting the text tool so you can choose fontsize and color should not be a problem, I can fix that up soon.
But I have to step away from full interoperability between this tool and DIYLC. Because there features on the list now that are not supported in diylc yet. I can do a separate export/import still though.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby RnFR » 23 Feb 2010, 01:13

~arph wrote:Hi,


But I have to step away from full interoperability between this tool and DIYLC. Because there features on the list now that are not supported in diylc yet. I can do a separate export/import still though.



i wouldn't worry too much about that. just keep on workin on making the best program you can! hopefully it can exceed the competition. (no offense to DIYLC, of course.)
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 138 times
Have thanks: 170 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 21 Apr 2010, 15:38

Sparked by a PM. I did a quick release of what I have done so far.

Now it's possible to:

- Select RGB wire and Cap colors
- Select font size, style and color
- Save as a diyx file.. which indicates that it contains extended diylc functionality. Not sure if the files will open there.
- Added the switch component
- Made text on components stand out with a small outline
- Fixed setting board type when openging a saved file
- IC's with more then 8 pins drawn correctly now
- IC connectivity highlight now works on all pins (usefull for breadboard and perf)
- You can rotate components (through the menu or with the R key)
- Delete button on keyboard works on selected component(s)

Working on Jacks..

Have fun!!
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Grendahl » 21 Apr 2010, 17:35

Looks great!

The one issue I have with it is that after I rotate a part I don't see how to move it into position. What am I missing here? :slap:
Resistance is futile...
( if < 1 ohm )
User avatar
Grendahl
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 01 Feb 2010, 19:53
Location: MN, USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 22 Apr 2010, 09:40

Hi

The fastest way is:

- Choose the select tool (looks like the mousepointer)
- Click on, or drag a square around the rotated component
- The component should now have purple highlighted nodes
- Drag the component to its desired place

You can only drag a whole component when the nodes are purple. You can drag single nodes when they are green or white.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Grendahl » 22 Apr 2010, 15:26

~arph wrote:Hi

The fastest way is:

- Choose the select tool (looks like the mousepointer)
- Click on, or drag a square around the rotated component
- The component should now have purple highlighted nodes
- Drag the component to its desired place

You can only drag a whole component when the nodes are purple. You can drag single nodes when they are green or white.


That's what I was missing. Thank you!
Resistance is futile...
( if < 1 ohm )
User avatar
Grendahl
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 01 Feb 2010, 19:53
Location: MN, USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 14 Jul 2010, 10:37

I'm getting some requests again lately. I'll be investing some time again soon
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Hides-His-Eyes » 20 Aug 2010, 15:44

I could really have done with an offline version in the last few months but now I'm online at home again it's nice to go back to stripmagic. Not sure what exactly I'd request though, does everything I need :)

perhaps a way to have multiple boards on at once?
Testing, testing, won too fwee
User avatar
Hides-His-Eyes
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2015
Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 13:34
Has thanked: 53 times
Have thanks: 84 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 03 Sep 2010, 09:37

It should work offline too.. you just have to make a shortcut via the webstart console..
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Hides-His-Eyes » 25 Sep 2010, 12:28

~arph wrote:It should work offline too.. you just have to make a shortcut via the webstart console..


How do I do that?
Testing, testing, won too fwee
User avatar
Hides-His-Eyes
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2015
Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 13:34
Has thanked: 53 times
Have thanks: 84 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby ~arph » 25 Sep 2010, 15:29

you start the console by typing:

javaws -viewer

from the command line or in the start-> run menu

Then it will start a Java control panel. Also a window called the Java Cache Viewer will popup.
Here you can right-click on stripmagic and choose -> install shortcuts

This will place icons on your desktop. Next time you run it, it will look for the latest online version, if it can't connect it will start the cached application

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 601
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 62 times
Have thanks: 164 times

Re: StripMagic 0.1b

Postby Hides-His-Eyes » 25 Sep 2010, 15:54

Wonderful. Thank you!
Testing, testing, won too fwee
User avatar
Hides-His-Eyes
Tube Twister
 
Posts: 2015
Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 13:34
Has thanked: 53 times
Have thanks: 84 times

PreviousNext

Return to Software Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests