Please help me understanding this Ashdown passive tone stack

Frequent asked about building blocks: gain stages, buffers, clipping configurations, ...
wgen
Information

Post by wgen »

Hello my dear,
new user here! I'm opening this thread because I'm desperately searching for some help.
I have the schematic of the little Ashdown bass combo, the Perfect 10 (the most recent one they made, just a couple of years ago)...and I found the tone stack part rather unusual. I'm posting this thread in this section because I thought that it could be of some interest for some DIY design experiments.
Let me say, first of all, that I'm just a player with great curiosity about amplifiers and effects pedals...but I'm a noob in understanding circuits.
Could you please help me understanding how to analyse the frequency response of this tone stack? This one seems quite different from classic Fender or Marshall tone stack which I usually check with the Duncan tone stack calculator...
This is the part of the schematic with the tone stack I talked about:
AshdownToneStack.png
Thank you very, very much in advance to anybody who will suggest me anything about this!
Please, excuse me for my English, I hope that this post was clear enough.

phatt
Transistor Tuner
Information

Post by phatt »

Hi Wgen,
It's an *Active* tone circuit.
Changing the values of R26, C16, C17 and R27 will alter how the tone controls respond.
It's a fairly common circuit design so nothing new for those who design circuits.
Yes these are not like the old classic Fender and Marshall circuits which are passive and very lossy. You can only Cut with those but they tend to be better for guitar.
Active means no loss which can be useful,, but not always.
Some players actually use both passive and active tone shaping to get the best of both circuits.
BTW, Your English is fine :thumbsup
Phil.

wgen
Information

Post by wgen »

Hello Phil, thank you very much for the reply!