Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Pickups, wiring schemes, switch techniques and onboard active electronics for guitars

Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby JVanDe7 » 19 Mar 2012, 23:02

I just received a CTS 250k no load pot in the mail, and it's my first one I've ever dealt with. I plan to use it for the bridge tone control on my Stratocaster. I want the added oomph and treble of no-load in that bridge slot.

Anywho, it doesn't actually click into place when turned fully on/up. The description of the part lead me to believe it would. Did I receive a regular audio pot maybe? Or is that just how they are?
“Walk tall, kick ass, learn to speak Arabic, love music and never forget you come from a long line of truth seekers, lovers and warriors.”
― Hunter S. Thompson
JVanDe7
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 26 Apr 2008, 19:49
Has thanked: 22 times
Have thanks: 10 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby lolbou » 19 Mar 2012, 23:13

Not a real "click" to me (I mean no click sound), but more like a detent that can be easily felt. From a 1997 US Strat.
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2715
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 347 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby JVanDe7 » 19 Mar 2012, 23:21

There is no detent on this one. It looks different though. Lugs 1 and 3 have a weird thing at the base. I'll do a quick DMM test...

Okay it works. There is absolutely no detent but it goes up to 280k and then to "1" which is wide open I assume. Weird that there is no notch/detent. It says CTS on the pot and looks quality/legit. Bought from guitarelectronics.com
“Walk tall, kick ass, learn to speak Arabic, love music and never forget you come from a long line of truth seekers, lovers and warriors.”
― Hunter S. Thompson
JVanDe7
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 26 Apr 2008, 19:49
Has thanked: 22 times
Have thanks: 10 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby lolbou » 20 Mar 2012, 10:03

There has to be a sorta inside "dent" made in the pot casing (bottom) to have this detent. Maybe yours is too shallow to actually be felt?
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2715
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 347 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby .Mike » 20 Mar 2012, 14:34

I have a couple of the Fender brand no-loads from guitarelectronics.com. They definitely have a detent at the end.

In fact, the product description specifically says that they click into place.

The CTS description, though, doesn't say that they click into place, so I bet they don't.

I would rather not have it click into place. Even after 5 years, I find the detent to be too deep, and it is difficult to gradually move away from the detent.

I did see that Bourns released a no-load pot, PDB241-GNL, in the last few months. Distribution is poor, though, and the only shop that sells them online wants about $13 to ship me one!

Mike
My website: America's Debate | My effects site: Just one more build...
User avatar
.Mike
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 07:21
Location: Savannah, GA
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 32 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby JVanDe7 » 20 Mar 2012, 15:20

Right on. Good point. Might be better that it doesn't click into place. I just wanted to be sure I got what I asked/paid for. And I did.

I wanted it because I changed my Strat wiring - moved the middle tone control to the bridge pickup instead (so now only the middle pickup has no tone control). And I love having the tone control there instead of in the middle, but I still want to be able to achieve that raw treble bridge sound.
“Walk tall, kick ass, learn to speak Arabic, love music and never forget you come from a long line of truth seekers, lovers and warriors.”
― Hunter S. Thompson
JVanDe7
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 26 Apr 2008, 19:49
Has thanked: 22 times
Have thanks: 10 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby cpm » 20 Mar 2012, 15:26

cant a regular guitar pot be modded into this no-load thing? if its open at the legs you can cut with a sharp knife the top track.
i remember doing it some time to a smaller pot for a pedal...
User avatar
cpm
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Oct 2008, 10:55
Location: spain
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 51 times

Re: Do no load pots actually "click" ?

Postby rizibiz » 20 Mar 2012, 17:43

I modded regular CTS tone pots on all of my strats to no-load pots.
It's easy just follow this guide:
http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/pots.htm

I love them. However they do make a barely audible noise when the wiper contacts the carbon track. :secret:
User avatar
rizibiz
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Dec 2011, 09:26
Location: Tremolo springs
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 23 times


Return to Electric Guitar Rewiring

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests