Bourns 82 Wiring

Pickups, wiring schemes, switch techniques and onboard active electronics for guitars and basses
Ansur
Information

Post by Ansur »

I've got three Bourns 82 pots on the way to install in my strat.

There seems to be some confusion on how to install them, so I thought I'd just check with you guys I got the correct idea on hooking them up. I'm not an expert at all with this stuff so I might make some basic mistakes.

They'll be installed on a gold anodized pickguard, so that in itself serves as shielding and is conductive.

If I now take a typical wiring diagram, I would say these are the changes to make:
  • no extra wires between the three pots (for grounding) since that's already done through the pickguard
  • the middle tone pot needs the additional washer. that and the 3rd pot lug will serve to connect the capacitor
  • the volume pot also needs the additional washer. On that, a total of 6 wires should somehow fit:
    • the three ground wires coming from the pickup
    • a jumper from the third pot lug
    • ground to the back of the guitar
    • ground to the output jack
  • the bottom (tone) pot doesn't need the additional washer since it's already grounded through the contact with the pickguard
Does that sound about right? Anything I may have missed?

And another question while I'm at it... the schematic I referenced includes the so-called Gilmour mod in which you can activate the bridge- and neck pickup at the same time. Only, there you have to have your 5-way switch on the neck and then flick the switch to enable the bridge pickup. To have it the other way around (5-way switch on bridge, flick to activate the neck), I imagine it's sufficient to wire the bridge to the switch and then to its original location (with the neck wire going straight to its proper location)?

Also, it seems quite hard to fit these 6 ground wires all together, so if you have any suggestions on how to do that...

Lucifer
Cap Cooler
Information