Metal DC power Jacks

Frequently asked questions regarding powering your pedal.
shugs81
Information

Post by shugs81 »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the pedal building scene... build a mxr dist+ clone that worked for about a week!! lol...

I Have some metal DC jacks and was wanting to check if i needed to ground them or anything?

http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo. ... kw=20-1094

and i'm not 100% sure how to wire them up.. I used a black plastic one before but that meant everything needed to be wired into the case where as the metal one means i can build the whole circuit and then sort the case out after... that one was pos to tip and ground to pin... will it be the same or will i need to ground the sleeve bit too?

Ta!

Greg
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Tophat Emplexador & Supreme 16.
Completed builds: LOTS..

Post by Greg »

I think you'll find that positive is connected to the body of the jack, so they have to be insulated from the enclosure in a normal negative ground circuit.
culturejam wrote: We are equal opportunity exposure artists.

IvIark
Tube Twister
Information

Post by IvIark »

Yes that was the first mistake I ever made with DIY. I bought the metal DC adapters because I thought they had to be better, and then couldn't work out why my pedal sounded like an Ann Summers gift bag.
"If anyone is a 'genius' for putting jacks in such a pedal in the only spot where they could physically fit, then I assume I too am a genius for correctly inserting my legs into my pants this morning." - candletears7 - TGP

rocklander
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: my jansen bassman 50
Completed builds: rebote 2.5; supreaux; odie; heartthrob tremolo; ross phaser; dr. boogey; thor; baja black toast; slow gear attack, rebote, tri-vibe, small clone, little angel, magnus modulus, echo base, hex fuzz, big muff, 22/7.

Post by rocklander »