Alpha with only E105 on back?

Frequently asked question regarding resistors, potentiometers, types, requirements, ratings etc.

Alpha with only E105 on back?

Postby chicago_mike » 08 Jun 2012, 22:37

E105 is on the back of some pots on an amp.

105...that would be 1Meg? :scratch:
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1711
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 275 times

Re: Alpha with only E105 on back?

Postby TV-Set » 20 Jun 2012, 20:28

chicago_mike wrote:E105 is on the back of some pots on an amp.

105...that would be 1Meg? :scratch:

you could simply use a multimeter to check those pots :thumbsup
User avatar
TV-Set
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 06 May 2012, 00:42
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: Alpha with only E105 on back?

Postby Ice-9 » 16 Nov 2013, 17:28

chicago_mike wrote:E105 is on the back of some pots on an amp.

105...that would be 1Meg? :scratch:



Yup ! I would think so, but wouldn't know about the taper.
It's fairly straight forward, if you want to start it , press start. You can work out the rest of the controls for yourself !

No silicon heaven ? preposterous ! Where would all the calculators go ?
User avatar
Ice-9
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: 31 Mar 2009, 16:29
Has thanked: 131 times
Have thanks: 338 times

Re: Alpha with only E105 on back?

Postby galmar » 16 Nov 2013, 22:48

You can also measure the resistance between legs 1 and 2, for say 5-10 positions of rotation, and then see how it goes. Or just measure it while rotation is 50% - if it measures half the total resistance, it is linear, if it is roughly 10% of the total value it is log. If it is more than 50% it would be reverse log. :)
galmar
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 17:27
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 10 times


Return to Resistors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest