Help with resistors

Frequently asked question regarding resistors, potentiometers, types, requirements, ratings etc.
Rev_evans
Information

Post by Rev_evans »

It might be that I am extremely new to this but these resistors aren't making sense to me. I am trying to build the weber cattle drive hitch was not a good choice as a first kit. Not newbie friendly. Could I get some help with the values of the resistors in the attachment? I very much appreciate the help.

- Jared Evans
image.jpg

cortezthekiller
Breadboard Brother
Information
my favorite amplifier: A large highway overpass

Post by cortezthekiller »

Hey Jared,

It seems that most of your resistors have 5 colour bands, which could lead to some confusion.

The first 3 bands are for the value of the resistor, the fourth is the multiplier, and the fifth is the % tolerance (how much the value might vary from what the colours say.

The one one the far right has only 4 bands, meaning the first 2 are the value, the third is the multiplier, and the fourth is tolerance.

Here is some more info:
http://electronicszone.net46.net/articl ... -resistors

Using this information the resistors are as follows from left to right (providing I'm seeing the right colours):

Here's a calculator for figuring out the values easily:
http://www.diyalarmforum.com/5-band-resistor-calc/

Rev_evans
Information

Post by Rev_evans »

I apologize but I am getting progressively frustrated with this DIY " kit". Sorry if this is a poor intro to the forum, been a lurker for awhile. Hoping someone out there might be able to help me make sense of this. Not sure about how to wire the jacks or where or the resistors or anything. The board shows 4 resistors for instance and yet I have 8? I'm in over my head here. Here are some helpful pics.
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (37.04 KiB) Viewed 4791 times
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

Rev_evans
Information

Post by Rev_evans »

cortezthekiller wrote:Hey Jared,