Transistors in parallel + simulating leakage

Frequently asked question on transistors: types, substitutions, how to test, use and misuse them.
polifemo
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by polifemo »

Hi,

I'm new to Fuzz design but I've been doing a lot of reading lately and a couple of days ago I came across the idea of connecting Silicon transistors in parallel in order to reduce gain (often needed as silicon trannies are way hotter than the germanium ones).

I've bought a PEAK atlas DCA55 component analyzer that takes readings of HFE (+ many other things) but when I solder two transistors together I still get half the same HFE measurement instead of half the gain, which was what I expected...

I've also heard about simulating the leakage - from collector to base - in GE trannies by connecting a large resistor from collector to base on a silicon transistor but when doing so I don't get an reading of leakage as it remains at "Zero".

Something DOES happen though!
Gain now have dropped from about 330 (BC547B transistor) to 7 !?...
And what seems even stranger, collector and emitter have now "switched places" according to my component analyzer !?...

Will these things: "transistor in parallel/half the gain" and "leakage resistor" work differently IN a circuit?

Someone please explain :-)

DrNomis
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Self-Built Valve Amp Head :)
Completed builds: Dallas Arbiter Fuzz Face,Tone Bender Professional Mk 3,Tone Bender 3-Knob,Baja BK Butler Tube Driver,Baja Real Tube Overdrive,Roger Mayer Octavia,EH Soul Preacher,Tech 21 XXL Distortion,MFOS Weird Sound Generator.

Post by DrNomis »

polifemo wrote:Hi,

I'm new to Fuzz design but I've been doing a lot of reading lately and a couple of days ago I came across the idea of connecting Silicon transistors in parallel in order to reduce gain (often needed as silicon trannies are way hotter than the germanium ones).