New member and "stupid" question about Fuzz Face trannies

Frequently asked question on transistors: types, substitutions, how to test, use and misuse them.
Proco
Information

Post by Proco »

Hi everyone :thumbsup

First of all sorry about my english, i'm spanish and, well, i'm sure that eventually i'll write something hard to understand :lol:

I have a question about Fuzz Face that maybe it's kind of noob.
I'm a newbie and i'm about making my frist build. I was thinking to make a LPB-1 or something similar, but I love fuzz pedals, and everyone seems to agree that a FF is a good starting point, as it doesn't require lots of parts and is easy to build.

But my question is, what's up with the trannies? I mean, yeah, I know you can use Germanium or Silicon, and Silicon semms like the "easy" choice, but the way I see it is a little hard to decide wich ones to use. Some of them are expensive (at least here) like 8 dollars for a Si transistor, and i've read everywhere that untill you dont' put them together you won't be sure if they sound nice.

Sooo... yeah, kind of confused :hmmm:

Is there any possibility to make a FF or similar substituing the trannies for something else? Or can a build a good sounding FF for cheap being sure that the transistors will sound nice together?

Thanks and sorry if that was stupid....

abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
Information

Post by abfackeln »

Not stupid questions, really.....

There are several places on the web that sell matched sets of transistors for Fuzz Face-type circuits, which removes the guesswork for beginners (and veterans alike) and ensures that you'll get reasonable and consistent results. Check out http://www.smallbearelec.com/ or http://www.banzaieffects.com/. I'm sure there's other places out there that do the same.
As far as substituting something else in place of the trannies, well then that may be another pedal altogether......

Proco
Information

Post by Proco »

Hey, thanks for the quick answer.