mounting board to enclosure

Frequent question about finishing your stompbox: painting, etching, clearcoating, lettering, etc...

mounting board to enclosure

Postby mojoh » 26 Aug 2009, 07:21

how is everyone mounting their circuit (vero) boards to the enclosure?
i know the BYOC uses the sticky tabs on through holes on the pcb but im after other suggestions?
mojoh
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 148
Joined: 25 Aug 2009, 05:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby RnFR » 26 Aug 2009, 07:49

i use either standoffs, or that hardcore double sided sticky foam with the red backing. that shit is tough to get off!
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 150 times
Have thanks: 174 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby frequencycentral » 26 Aug 2009, 11:47

I really dislike loose boards, foam and sticky pads.

Method #1: My favourite way is to have the pots on the board which solves a lot of problems if the circuit allows for it space-wise:

Image

Method #2: Recently I did a circuit where I mounted the board using very think solid core to the +ve of the DC sockets and the grounds of the in/out jacks - so dual purpose:

Image

Method #3: Using stand-offs and bolts is nice too, if you don't mind seeing bolts on your pedals:

Image

Method #4: This next method is a bit of a hassle, but worth it. The photo below has two boards, one is pot mounted as in method #1. For the second board with the tubes on I filed two slots onto the inner sides of the enclosure and sized the board to slide snugly into the slots:

Image
User avatar
frequencycentral
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 30 Mar 2009, 10:37
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 30 times
Have thanks: 67 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 26 Aug 2009, 14:42

since I use solid-core wire and almost all of my stuff is small boards, i just kinda place it wherever i want it in the enclosure with some foam underneath and wire it up. by the time im done wiring the solid core is doing enough to hold it in place that I dont worry about it.

I was trying to use JB weld for standoffs originally, but i kept having problems there where the epoxy would somehow get in the threads and make the whole arrangement not work, or i'd mess up the spacing or whatever. Add to that i was also trying to use epoxy to mount battery clips, which SUCKED BALLS. Every time you pop a battery in one of those it flexed and the epoxy broke loose. Now, i usuallly just wedge the battery in the enclosure with foam or whatever. And if i'm using a box beg enough that wedging isnt gonna happen, I bought a pop-riveter from the local hardware store and i just rivet the clip to the bottom of the box.
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 809
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby earthtonesaudio » 26 Aug 2009, 17:04

frequencycentral wrote:Method #2: Recently I did a circuit where I mounted the board using very think solid core to the +ve of the DC sockets and the grounds of the in/out jacks - so dual purpose:


Genius.
rocklander wrote:hairsplitting and semantics aren't exactly the same thing though.. we may need two contests for that.
earthtonesaudio
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 05:00
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 109 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby pz » 26 Aug 2009, 17:27

Method #5
Using almost everything to hold the pcb: pots, jacks, footswitch:
Image
pz
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 218
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 17:55
Location: Germany/Poland
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 48 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby frequencycentral » 26 Aug 2009, 17:40

^
^
^

#5 = very sexy! 8)
User avatar
frequencycentral
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 30 Mar 2009, 10:37
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 30 times
Have thanks: 67 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby RnFR » 26 Aug 2009, 20:13

Dr Tony Balls wrote:since I use solid-core wire and almost all of my stuff is small boards, i just kinda place it wherever i want it in the enclosure with some foam underneath and wire it up. by the time im done wiring the solid core is doing enough to hold it in place that I dont worry about it.

I was trying to use JB weld for standoffs originally, but i kept having problems there where the epoxy would somehow get in the threads and make the whole arrangement not work, or i'd mess up the spacing or whatever. Add to that i was also trying to use epoxy to mount battery clips, which SUCKED BALLS. Every time you pop a battery in one of those it flexed and the epoxy broke loose. Now, i usuallly just wedge the battery in the enclosure with foam or whatever. And if i'm using a box beg enough that wedging isnt gonna happen, I bought a pop-riveter from the local hardware store and i just rivet the clip to the bottom of the box.



rivets are way cooler than that sticky foam, but i've been using it for battery clips and it works great. it flexes so the clip can open and close without it popping off, and it is extremely strong. i haven't had one come off yet. that being said, i do like the idea of rivets- they remind me of that old WWII era quality.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 150 times
Have thanks: 174 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby modman » 04 Sep 2009, 10:27

That's some good looking stuff and in this case good looks are not deceiving. Really, soldering up a noise circuits is easy, almost anybody could learn it in a day, but building a reliable stompbox unit is something else.

So many times in the beginning I ended up with some scruffy piece of perf - now how the f$ck am I going to box that up. Now anything I do, is with pcb mounted pots.

Maybe we should have more talk about (non-electronic) building techniques.
"The whole point of diy is diy. It's not dsoiyathodtr - do some of it yourself and then have others do the rest" (paulc)
User avatar
modman
a d m i n
 
Posts: 4298
Joined: 19 Jun 2007, 17:57
Has thanked: 3103 times
Have thanks: 546 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby Swervedriver » 04 Feb 2010, 15:57

I read somewhere that Devi Ever used to mount her PCB with electrical tape. Does anyone have any pics of that? I'd like to give it a try. She said in a post elsewhere that she never had any problems or returns due to PCBs coming loose.
Swervedriver
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jan 2010, 14:48
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby RnFR » 05 Feb 2010, 02:13

she doesn't mount it. she just wraps it in e-tape and throws it in the box. not the best way to go, if you ask me. the one i have is now broken and sitting in a drawer because the cheap stranded wire broke from flexing too much. i may get around to fixing it some day. :roll:
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO
User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 150 times
Have thanks: 174 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby menlow » 23 Feb 2010, 03:22

This is a great topic for some of us newbie types... I've got a project I'm getting ready to start that doesn't have holes in the corners for standoffs... Any ideas on how to get around this?
menlow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 15:25
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby kdmay » 23 Feb 2010, 12:00

Crickey - I asked the same question a few weeks ago and didn't get a reaction like this!! Did I post in the wrong section?!

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8473

Some greats ideas. I particularly like Method # 4....
User avatar
kdmay
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 12 Oct 2009, 02:55
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby Dr Tony Balls » 23 Feb 2010, 17:01

I still stand by my solid-core wiring. Lately i've even used really short leads on my pot wiring and stood the board up almost as if they were PCB mounted pots.
User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 809
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 153 times

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby maudibe » 06 Mar 2010, 19:43

Rapid do a pcb mounting strip... its self adesive and provides a 'groove' for your board to slide into. I have just bought a strip and intend to try it on my next build; saves filing a groove into the enclosure.

heres the link:

http://www.rapidonline.com/sku/Tools-Fa ... 16/34-0918
maudibe
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 10:55
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: mounting board to enclosure

Postby earthtonesaudio » 07 Mar 2010, 04:18

Output jack + bent sheet metal with some holes drilled:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
rocklander wrote:hairsplitting and semantics aren't exactly the same thing though.. we may need two contests for that.

For this message the author earthtonesaudio has received thanks:
Valco (04 Jan 2014, 17:17)
earthtonesaudio
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 05:00
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 109 times


Return to Enclosure Finishing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests