Etching die-cast enclosures (like the Moollon)

Frequent question about boxes and accessories: painting, etching, clearcoating, lettering, glueing, and so on.
solderboy
Information

Post by solderboy »

Hi All,

i like those Moollon Enclosures very much !!!!!
http://www.moollon.com

And i was in the BuildReport from the Lovepedal Eternity, that die Enclosures can be etched....
Im not very experienced, but i think the Technique is very simple..

can anyone give some hints how to do?

Thanx and Greetings
Solderboy

briggs
Tube Twister
Information
my favorite amplifier: Briggs Custom Suprono
Completed builds: Too many to still class myself as sane....

Post by briggs »

Markm has a great tutorial on this but I'm not sure where it's gone. I'm sure there is a link around here somewhere. Let me see if I can find it....

I am Klon.

Bside2234
Resistor Ronker
Information

Post by Bside2234 »

I was looking for that tut a little while ago and couldn't find it.

solderboy
Information

Post by solderboy »

Hi,

thanx for searching... but no problem... i saw the Build Report (Lovepedal Eternity) and i think based on that it should be easy to do...

like the Moollon, i think that is done by transfering a negative picture of that, what you see and after etching perhaps filled with black color..

If it works like that... its more easy like painting with primer, color, doing the labeling and ending with clear coat...

i'll try on error.... :-)

Greetings
Solderboy

Bside2234
Resistor Ronker
Information

Post by Bside2234 »

I would make a negative mask. If you have Illustrator it is really easy to do. I think it's called swap colors in the drop down menus. I haven't used it in a while so I am not exactly sure what it is called.

I would guess press n peel would work best but you could probably to any method of getting a PCB mask on metal. Then take a Q-tip and dab on etchant where you want it.

That's how I would try it.

Kaos
Breadboard Brother
Information