Phase inverting, so what?

Frequent asked about building blocks: gain stages, buffers, clipping configurations, ...
Sonic
Information

Post by Sonic »

Ok I want to know what the big deal with phase inverting is, I mean, I have always heard that when building effect pedals, you should try and not invert the guitar singnal 180 degrees, but why, I'm a tech and knows that the the sound isn't affected by this, if there where two signals, it would make sense since they would phase each other out, Did I over-see something?

I know that LPB1 (or all pnp, npn one-tramsistor boosters), electra distortion, Little angel chorus ,and a lot of others pedals are phase inverting.

Ihave always build pedals with "0" degrees phase, and if it had phase inverting, I would build a buffer circuit to correct it back to "0" degrees, but I don't mind anymore since I can't see the problem in this.
So if you know about a problem I haven't heard of please let me know :)

Hides-His-Eyes
Tube Twister
Information

Post by Hides-His-Eyes »

For your own use it's no real problem. For a pedal to sell, you don't know if the end user will be using a two amp setup or something.
Testing, testing, won too fwee

Sonic
Information

Post by Sonic »

Hides-His-Eyes wrote:For your own use it's no real problem. For a pedal to sell, you don't know if the end user will be using a two amp setup or something.
Oh yes, didn't think of that, since I never use two amps.

Ripdivot
Resistor Ronker
Information

Post by Ripdivot »

I use two amps together all the time. One thing to remember is that not all amps are in phase with each other. I use a fender and a vox in stereo and I use an sho in front of the fender to get them in phase.

Greg
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Tophat Emplexador & Supreme 16.
Completed builds: LOTS..

Post by Greg »