Methods of distortion in stomp boxes

Frequent asked about building blocks: gain stages, buffers, clipping configurations, ...
TragicTravisty
Solder Soldier
Information

Post by TragicTravisty »

What are the pros/cons of different methods of implementing distiortion in stompboxes? (modfet, diodes, transistors, etc...)

By the way, this is my first post, im new to this stuff, i have extensive knowledge of internal guitar wiring and some basic pedal knowledge from jack orman, beavis, etc... but have yet to build a pedal.

borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
Information
Completed builds: ...script phase90,ETI phaser,Ross phaser,mutronC200,vox wah,WH10,FW-3,mutronIII,DrQuack,Penfoldautowah,Tubezipper,
Dipthonizer,seekwah,Talkingpedal,morleywha
...soulpreacher,dynacomp,compulator
...buzzaround,fuzzfactory,screwdriver,sho,superdouper,St-9,RogerMayer octavia,Tychobrahe octavia,paralelluniverse,string damper,slowgear
...CE-2,ibanez fL301,EH theCloneTheory
EHX bassmicrosynth,EHX EnglishMuffin,Tube Phaser,springtubereverb ,greyDOD,FulldriveII mosfet,OCD,VOX repeat percussion,RingStinger,Meatball,12stage phaser....

Post by borislavgajic »

wellcome TragicTravisty!

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YVM-1
Completed builds: too many!

Post by soulsonic »

Welcome,