a general layout for 'blend' ?

Frequent asked about building blocks: gain stages, buffers, clipping configurations, ...

a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby nezek » 29 Jan 2009, 09:47

Hi, tried to search but couldn't find something that helped me..
I want to add a blend control (dry/wet) to a wah..
Do I need an active mixer or just a pot..?
thanks
nezek
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 00:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moltenmetalburn » 29 Jan 2009, 13:45

I have never used a passive blender that sounded any good.

you can try this one, Joel Purkiss' Buff n' Blend Ive had some success with it in the past.

http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalset ... ffblnd.gif
http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalseteeth/buffpcb.gif
http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalset ... ffwire.gif

OR this if you favor op amps, if you tie Send 2 to Return 2 and omit the jacks youll have a blender that blends with the dry. The Runoffgroove Splitterblend.

http://www.runoffgroove.com/splitter-blend.html

OR the Mooseapotamus Paralooper, originally designed for bass. If you omit the low pass filter on the clean signal you'll have a full range blend.

http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... perSCH.gif
http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... operTT.gif
http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... perLYT.gif

Good luck blending! :ROFL
"The Humans Will Never Destroy Us"
User avatar
moltenmetalburn
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 03 Nov 2008, 15:01
Location: Dirty Jersey
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby nezek » 29 Jan 2009, 18:33

wow cool :)
thanks
nezek
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 00:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby kurtlives » 01 Feb 2009, 03:28

moltenmetalburn wrote:I have never used a passive blender that sounded any good.

you can try this one, Joel Purkiss' Buff n' Blend Ive had some success with it in the past.

http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalset ... ffblnd.gif
http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalseteeth/buffpcb.gif
http://www.geocities.com/jrtookmyfalset ... ffwire.gif

OR this if you favor op amps, if you tie Send 2 to Return 2 and omit the jacks youll have a blender that blends with the dry. The Runoffgroove Splitterblend.

http://www.runoffgroove.com/splitter-blend.html

OR the Mooseapotamus Paralooper, originally designed for bass. If you omit the low pass filter on the clean signal you'll have a full range blend.

http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... perSCH.gif
http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... operTT.gif
http://www.moosapotamus.net/THINGS/para ... perLYT.gif

Good luck blending! :ROFL

How would you alter the Paralooper to be used with guitar?
kurtlives
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 20 Jan 2008, 03:18
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moltenmetalburn » 01 Feb 2009, 04:14

OR the Mooseapotamus Paralooper, originally designed for bass. If you omit the low pass filter on the clean signal you'll have a full range blend.


full range= guitar.

if you needed more specific information replace R6 with a jumper and remove C5, and it's now a regular blend pedal. [smilie=a_bigteeth.gif]
"The Humans Will Never Destroy Us"
User avatar
moltenmetalburn
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 03 Nov 2008, 15:01
Location: Dirty Jersey
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby nezek » 01 Feb 2009, 13:12

the original plan was for a bass wah so I won't need it :)
but pretty cool ideas & schems there
nezek
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 00:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

clean blend knob

Postby ifeellikeatourist » 09 Feb 2009, 22:52

So, how hard is it to put a clean blend knob into a pedal? How does one go about doing this?
ifeellikeatourist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 31 Jan 2009, 04:02
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: clean blend knob

Postby earthtonesaudio » 10 Feb 2009, 02:22

The answer to the first question depends upon which of the many ways you could answer the second question.

Easy and will work with any pedal:
Splitter at the input
Mixer at the output
-Dual-ganged pot turns effect output down while turning "clean" output up.
-Alternatively, separate volume controls for "effect" and "clean"

I'd use an op-amp for the mixer stage, for sure. This gives you the option of configuring it as a "summing amplifier" or a "difference amplifier" depending on whether the effect inverts the phase.

For the input, my first choice would be the other half of a dual op-amp, or a JFET if using a single op-amp.


...But there are many ways to do this, depending on your preferences.
rocklander wrote:hairsplitting and semantics aren't exactly the same thing though.. we may need two contests for that.
earthtonesaudio
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 05:00
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Has thanked: 17 times
Have thanks: 109 times

Re: clean blend knob

Postby moltenmetalburn » 10 Feb 2009, 03:14

Also, read this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=4240
"The Humans Will Never Destroy Us"
User avatar
moltenmetalburn
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 03 Nov 2008, 15:01
Location: Dirty Jersey
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moaner70 » 19 Apr 2009, 18:39

Hi

I'm looking to build the following "B Blender" as designed by Sean M for use on a Bass. Not yet verified but if someone wants to cast an eye over the layout i'd be grateful before I commit to building it. The ground is on strip K and I do plan to connect the ground of all the jack sockets and battery to ground also.

Image

This is from Sean's original schematic at his website

http://seanm.ca/stomp/bblender.html

Thanks
Mark
User avatar
moaner70
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moaner70 » 30 Apr 2009, 19:48

I can now verify this works. I've amended the layout slightly and moved R5 to the other side of C8 as below.

Image
User avatar
moaner70
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby JiM » 30 Apr 2009, 21:15

Why don't you use some quad opamp, such as a TL074 ? It would be easier and take less space.
BTW, these 741 will be quite noisy ... and they may need some offset compensation.
User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 907
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Location: France
Has thanked: 26 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moaner70 » 01 May 2009, 13:49

Thanks for the tip Jim, maybe next time. Would a TL074 be less noisy than a couple of 741? Or is there a better design I could use for blend?
User avatar
moaner70
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby lolbou » 01 May 2009, 13:57

moaner70 wrote:Would a TL074 be less noisy than a couple of 741?


Sure it will!! But you can improve your existing design with other single opamps (e.g. TL071..) with better noise characteristics...
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 338 times
Have thanks: 229 times

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby moaner70 » 01 May 2009, 22:37

Lolbou, could I substitute the 741 for a TL071 in the design without any other changes? Just a case of slotting in the new IC's?

Image
User avatar
moaner70
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby lolbou » 01 May 2009, 22:48

Sure, same pins, no change... Unless you need the dirtyness of the 741 in this circuit, like in the MXR Dist +... :)
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 338 times
Have thanks: 229 times

Dry Blend control: Would this work properly?

Postby Gino » 27 May 2009, 16:10

Would this work for a Dry Blend control? Or would it overload the input, output or do something else strange? If so, how could this be fixed to allow for a dry blend on the output? Thanks in advance. :)

Image

Sorry for posting this on every DIY stompbox forum but I want to get as much input as possible.
User avatar
Gino
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jan 2009, 03:20
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Dry Blend control: Would this work properly?

Postby Gino » 27 May 2009, 16:13

Ok, I just found this topic. Sorry. :oops:
User avatar
Gino
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jan 2009, 03:20
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby plexiplud » 03 Jun 2009, 15:16

If I wanted to drop this circuit into an existing overdrive pedal, such as my MXR Distortion III, where abouts in the circuit would i want to put it? I have a pretty basic understanding on circuitry at the moment but im hoping to try to learn alot more from here... cheers.
plexiplud
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 15:11
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: a general layout for 'blend' ?

Postby lolbou » 03 Jun 2009, 15:18

You mean adding a gain stage in it?
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 22:38
Has thanked: 338 times
Have thanks: 229 times

Next

Return to Circuit Blocks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest