Some Noob Questions: EP Booster

Ok, you got your soldering iron and nothing is going to hold you back, but you have no clue where to start or what to build. There were others before you with the same questions... read them first.
Troll1
Information

Post by Troll1 »

I am about to order the parts for my first build, an EP Booster clone. This is supposedly an easy build, which is good as I have zero experience in building electronics.

After some research, I have decided to use this veroboard schematic.

So far I think I have done a decent job at "translating" the layout into a parts list, but I wanted to run it by those more experienced to make sure I don't miss anything.

General Stuff
Vero Board
Knobs (×1)
SPST On-On Switch (×2)
Enclosure (1590A or 1590B?)
Wire
Mono Jacks (×2)
LED
LED Bezel
3PDT Switch
9VDC Jack

Resistors
100R
10K (×3)
1M (×3)

Capacitors
3.3nF
47nF
10uF (×4)
100uF (×2)

Not Sure What These are Categorized As
J201
2N5088
1N4148

Pots
C10K

Also, I had a few additional questions. Should I use metal or carbon film resistors? What type of capacitors should I use (I am overwhelmed by the many different types)? Do you think this will fit in a 1590A enclosure (with external SPST switches for the bass/treble boost) or will I need a 1590B? Should I use a PCB mount pot? How many colors/how much wire should I order? Do I need any additional components for offboard wiring? What should I use for wiring across the different "strips" of the veroboard?

Sorry if this is a lot, but there is a lot to think about and it's kind of overwhelming... :oops:

Lucifer
Cap Cooler
Information
my favorite amplifier: Vyse BBQ Blue

Post by Lucifer »

Hi Troll1

Welcome aboard. I hope your build goes great and works first time.

In your parts list you've changed the SPST switches from simple Off-On to On-On, which would make them SPDT. They'll still do the job.

The J201 and 2N5088 are transistors, and the 1N4148 is a diode - but they could all be classed as semiconductors.