Confusion regarding reading schematic

Ok, you got your soldering iron and nothing is going to hold you back, but you have no clue where to start or what to build. There were others before you with the same questions... read them first.
fireflyva
Information

Post by fireflyva »

Hey guys - I'm brand new to this forum and an "absolute beginner" when it comes to building stomp boxes. My question: looking at a schematic that was listed on this forum under the jangle box

https://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic ... c&#p181001

and when I opened the schematic, there is a little section of the schematic at the top of the page that is not connected to the rest of the diagram. How do I read it? In other words, when it is not connected to the rest of the diagram/schematic, how do you know where it connects to the rest of the diagram?

Thanks in advance.

Intripped
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by Intripped »

it's easy:
all the points named "+9V" must be connected together
the same for the ones named "VB"
idem for "GND"

this connections are usually represented in this way on the schematics, because it makes the schematic easier to read (once you know how it works)

also: in that schematic the connections of the sleeve (ground) of the two jacks are not represented: remember to connect them together with all the other "GND" points

fireflyva
Information

Post by fireflyva »

Thanks for your reply:

So what does VB stand for? Voltage Bus? and when you say all the ones labeled VB need to be connected together, do you mean they just all have a common connection?

Intripped
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by Intripped »

not 100% sure but i think VB stands for "voltage B" - you can find also VA or VC or Vref
this voltage usually is lower than the primary one, that is indicated with V+ or directly with +9V (or 12V etc...) - in amplifiers schematics B+