Total Newbie question - debugging a Fuzz

Forum dedicated to helping people debug and troubleshoot non-functional pedals or builds. Please use an clear and informative title, indicating circuit and basic problem. Don't forget to mark the issue as fixed if this is the case.
V8Reverb
Information

Post by V8Reverb »

I built the Fat Furry Freak fuzz pedal from pedalparts.co.uk and now I'm getting clean guitar (bass) with everything turned down but as soon as I move the volume it starts clicking only when I play a note. i checked the soldering and any bridges and the resistor values are correct and the electrolytics are in the correct way. What could be causing this?
I'm using Mylar greenies as capacitors - would they cause it? Would my transistor cause it if they were fried?

like I said - newbie quesion, sorry.

Lucifer
Cap Cooler
Information
my favorite amplifier: Vyse BBQ Blue

Post by Lucifer »

It's that wire on the left - no, not that one . . . yeah, that's it.

Only kidding :lol: V8Reverb - but with a purpose. A picture is worth a thousand words. A bunch of pictures would be even better.

How about posting a few so we can have a look. There may be something obvious that we can spot.
”Sex is great - but you can’t beat the real thing !” - The Wanker’s Handbook

V8Reverb
Information

Post by V8Reverb »

lol the left one? Which way am I holding the board? :)

I'm in work at the moment so I'll get you some when I get home.
The only other thing I can think of is dry solder - the solder pads were the smallest I've ever seen, but I made sure it flowed and ended up with a ball on top so i'm not sure - i cut the legs halfway into the solder so something should have come loose if there was a dodgy connection

V8Reverb
Information

Post by V8Reverb »

V8Reverb
Information

Post by V8Reverb »

oh and it acts differently with a power supply feeding it +9v
I'm going to resolder the wires for the pots and see what happens

V8Reverb
Information

Post by V8Reverb »