Klon wiring/debugging. aka I'm a total noob.

Forum dedicated to helping people debug and troubleshoot non-functional pedals or builds. Please use an clear and informative title, indicating circuit and basic problem. Don't forget to mark the issue as fixed if this is the case.
monotonous1984
Information

Post by monotonous1984 »

I am a total noob at this, so please excuse any ignorance. Now that that's out of the way, let me begin.

I thought to myself "Hey why don't you try the Klon! It'll be fun. No sweat now that you successfully built another OD on strip board". So I got to it.

Here's where I am now. I used the layout found here: http://www.sabrotone.com/wp-content/upl ... entaur.gif which was easy to understand until I got to the wiring.

I wired the board up according to the layout and what is described here (to the best of my knowledge (which is vastly limited as I am a novice) ) and what I get when I plug the ol’ boy up is a bunch of hum and a weakened signal. hahaha! and that's before you even power it on.
-The volume pot “works” inasmuch as you can turn it all the way down and there’s no sound and then all the way up and there is a little sound but the other 2 pots don’t do anything.

-Also, Am I wrong to assume that the tip of the input goes to the board as marked on the layout? (I apologize for my ignorance. First time I’ve wired anything buffered and not true bypass). I’m thinking I may have something wired wrong on the drive pot as well. I have Lug3 & Lug5 jumped together. Would that cause a problem? I saw somewhere where someone had dif lugs tied together.

The other question was ground issue. I linked the sleeve of both jacks together and tied them into the On/Off Switch 5. I think that’s all the questions I may have had…Otherwise I’ll check the board over again to make sure there’s nothing touching where it shouldn’t be when I get another chance.