Effectrode - Tube Vibe

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby guiddruid » 21 Oct 2009, 11:43

This is the suspected microcontroller:
http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/De ... e=en010277

Once we have figured out which pins of this chip go where, it shouldn't be too hard to write some code which will work in a _similar_ fashion.

To get it _very_ close to the original will probably require some measurements of a working device, and will depend on exactly how the device is connected...
guiddruid
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 14 Aug 2009, 13:18
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby Greg » 21 Oct 2009, 11:58

Good start..
I'll try to do the resistors this week.
culturejam wrote: We are equal opportunity exposure artists.
User avatar
Greg
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: 03 Nov 2007, 10:35
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 75 times
Have thanks: 194 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 21 Oct 2009, 12:15

Here it is.........now mister Greg_G please make part list (if you can).... :thumbsup


boris :block:

p.s.
this is for spam-lovers...... :thumbsup :thumbsup :thumbsup
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 21 Oct 2009, 12:29

so if we compare this two drawings.... :wink:
.....I am very intrigued about power supply of this baby......so small,going on 12volt DC ..draws 3 tubes... :blackeye ..great for all tube projects.....tiny amplifiers........... :idea:

somebody with greater knowledge (then mine) could help ........?

cheers

boris

and if there is someone with PHASEoMATIC....it would be great to see guts of that......just to see how RESONANCE pot is conected.......
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby MWichni » 21 Oct 2009, 12:39

Hi Boris, you have forgotten about inductor on the layout. BTW Tubes are powered with high voltage instead of the lfo section which is +5V I believe?

Regards,
Mariusz.
MWichni
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 20:08
Location: Poland: Szczecin
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 56 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 21 Oct 2009, 12:50

MWichni wrote:Hi Boris, you have forgotten about inductor on the layout. BTW Tubes are powered with high voltage instead of the lfo section which is +5V I believe?

Regards,
Mariusz.



no I did not forget it,just wanted to show schem as soon as possible........AUDIO part is what was primary for me.......better layout....soon ...with tracks....... :thumbsup

you are right......when you have 12v DC ..it is not hard to get 5V regulated......
....What I would like to know how he gets 300V so elegantly :scratch: :mrgreen:

this is first time for me to trace twosidedboard so be patient please :oops:

boris
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby MWichni » 21 Oct 2009, 13:42

borislavgajic wrote:
MWichni wrote:Hi Boris, you have forgotten about inductor on the layout. BTW Tubes are powered with high voltage instead of the lfo section which is +5V I believe?

Regards,
Mariusz.



no I did not forget it,just wanted to show schem as soon as possible........AUDIO part is what was primary for me.......better layout....soon ...with tracks....... :thumbsup

you are right......when you have 12v DC ..it is not hard to get 5V regulated......
....What I would like to know how he gets 300V so elegantly :scratch: :mrgreen:

this is first time for me to trace twosidedboard so be patient please :oops:

boris


Well I think that he gets 300V using DC/DC converter 12/300V for example. This inductor is the part of that converter, because there is no need to get big current for the anodes of the tubes so the inductor is quite small. Hope you get my point. ;)

Regards,
Mariusz.
MWichni
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 20:08
Location: Poland: Szczecin
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 56 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 21 Oct 2009, 13:54

Well I think that he gets 300V using DC/DC converter 12/300V for example. This inductor is the part of that converter, because there is no need to get big current for the anodes of the tubes so the inductor is quite small. Hope you get my point.

Regards,
Mariusz.


Mariusz I get your point :thumbsup ,....and what I really hope to get is a drawing from you ....schematic as close as possible to Vibes power section....it is not much to ask?

cheers

boris
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby MWichni » 21 Oct 2009, 18:45

I'll try to draw the schematic for this one.
MWichni
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 20:08
Location: Poland: Szczecin
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 56 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 21 Oct 2009, 19:31

MWichni wrote:I'll try to draw the schematic for this one.



great!!!! :thumbsup
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 22 Oct 2009, 10:04

this is all I've done........ :hmmm: Greg...can you please check PCB traces that are not visible on photos......did I get them right :?:
next is .....

1.......resistor values,cap(near volumepot)...... :arrow: Greg_G :thumbsup
2.......Power section schematic..................... :arrow: MWichni
3.......PIC programming................................ :arrow: somebody craisy :applause:

that is all for now :thumbsup

boris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby JiM » 22 Oct 2009, 19:31

[smilie=a_jester.gif]
User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 908
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Location: France
Has thanked: 28 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby chicago_mike » 22 Oct 2009, 19:40

Boris, you are a sick, sick man! :mrgreen: :horsey:
Skyline FX 2013
User avatar
chicago_mike
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1711
Joined: 03 Jul 2008, 05:38
Has thanked: 23 times
Have thanks: 275 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby himister » 22 Oct 2009, 19:44

chicago_mike wrote:Boris, you are a sick, sick man! :mrgreen: :horsey:


Exactly. I totally agree. Sick man. If you finish this one it will be kick ass for sure.
Usually I wouldn't bother with SMD but.... Go for it. :thumbsup
User avatar
himister
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 07 May 2009, 01:48
Has thanked: 26 times
Have thanks: 25 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 23 Oct 2009, 10:12

thanks......we all can do everything.....with little help from eachother :thumbsup

I want to trace all those pedals...
http://www.effectrode.com/website/effec ... pedals.htm

...so...

....please if somebody have theese pedals,post some gut pictures

Tube-Vibe.................this one is in progress
Tube Drive
Delta-Trem
Phaseomatic Deluxe............would like to see this one very much
Vibra Chorus

thanks


hard part......for me is that PIC - LFO.....but somebody here is an expert for PIC-ing,and can do that in 45 minutes....problem are traces below parts,and you have to use imagination(if you don't have knowledge)
...so please feel free to contribute......LFO and POWER part is missing
...tube heaters are connected pin4...GND pin 5....12.6V

boris

For this message the author borislavgajic has received thanks:
modman (23 Feb 2014, 22:57)
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby MWichni » 23 Oct 2009, 11:37

Hi guys, I see that the DC/DC converter is made using a microcontroller too. It's based on PIC12F675 if I read that correctly from the Greg's picture. Here is a part of the schematic which I can see without any problems. But there are traces under IC's and other parts that I can't see but I try to figure out as much as I can.
If Greg could make better pics of the lfo and power section it would be great.

Regards,
Mariusz.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

For this message the author MWichni has received thanks:
modman (23 Feb 2014, 22:57)
MWichni
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 20:08
Location: Poland: Szczecin
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 56 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby Greg » 23 Oct 2009, 11:41

R1 = 82K
R2 = 22K
R3 = 1.8K
R4 = 1M
R5 = 22k
R6 = 1M
R7 = 1.5K
R8 = 22K
R9 = 22K
R10 = 10K
R11 = 10K
R12 = 390R ?
R13 = 22K
R16 = 1K
R18 = 10K
R19 = 10K
R20 = 1.5K
R21 = 1M
R22 = 22K
R23 = 22K
R24 = 22K
R25 = 22K
R26 = 22K
R27 = 22K
R28 = 22K
R29 = 22K
R30 = 22K
R31 = 22K
R32 = 22K
R33 = 22K
R34 = 100R
R35 = 100R
R36 = 100R
R37 = 10K
R38 = 10K
R39 = 10K
D2 = 15DN
D3 = B2G 03C 270
TR3 = 6CW
TR4 = 6CW
culturejam wrote: We are equal opportunity exposure artists.

For this message the author Greg has received thanks:
modman (23 Feb 2014, 22:58)
User avatar
Greg
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: 03 Nov 2007, 10:35
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 75 times
Have thanks: 194 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 23 Oct 2009, 13:29

great!!!! thanks Greg............please...I could not read value of output condenser......one conected to volume pot......?

If Greg could make better pics of the lfo and power section it would be great.

Regards,
Mariusz.


this is almost done :hmmm: :D :slap: :hug: :thumbsup

boris
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby borislavgajic » 26 Oct 2009, 16:56

R1 and R19 on anode (pin1) tube1......looks little strange to me.......I would say that signal should go from pin1 through C to the rest of the circuit.........

what is the reason of this topology? (smaller signall for blending?).... did I make correct schem?

cheers :thumbsup

are those resistors 1W?

boris

p.s.
any progres with power section?.......sharper pictures of that part?
borislavgajic
Opamp Operator
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 15:23
Location: Sombor , Serbia
Has thanked: 137 times
Have thanks: 240 times

Re: Tube-Vibe

Postby toneman » 28 Oct 2009, 02:56

Has it been determined if this is, 4 sure, just a 2-layer pcb?

or is it a 4-layer?? (with "poured gnds" on the top and bottom.)

Yes, traces under the ICs are difficult to figure out if U can't lift the IC. :scratch:

If the HVPS uses part of a PIC, that's gonna be a sticky also :shock:
Determine if there is (analog)feedback to the PIC for the switcher.
If not, it's just free-running and can substitute a 555 for the pulsing.

a 12V to 200V DC-2-DC PIC converter would be trick 8)
but, 555 boost converters aren't that hard to build :)

As Boris said, go for the signal path first :) :)
U can build power supplies several ways....the tubes won't mind :lol:

Great work so far :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

afn
T
8)
Tone-to-the-Bone
User avatar
toneman
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 14:05
Location: sacatomatoes, Kali4nia
Has thanked: 85 times
Have thanks: 19 times

PreviousNext

Return to Boutique Stompboxes dissected...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: badhornet, Cub, Frabbio, hozy31, Ichabod_Crane and 17 guests