BlackStar - HT-DUAL

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby kenshiro86 » 02 May 2013, 12:46

please help me!! :( :( :(
kenshiro86
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Feb 2010, 01:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby jymaze » 02 May 2013, 15:55

This inductor does not matter. Try to solder directly + to + and ground to ground, like in the following picture. Or you can try to replace with any type of small inductor for power supply filtering that has the same structure (4 connectors), but I would not even bother. You will need to explore this option only if significant noise is introduced, which I doubt it will. Even in that case, you can still just wrap the incoming power cord around a ferrite choke as a substitute.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jymaze
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 374
Joined: 06 Mar 2011, 23:19
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 160 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby amfarina » 10 May 2013, 16:28

Hi
Warning, I found the momentary switches, as drawn in the schematic, are in pushed position, not in released one as normally intended. If you mount these in that position you'll have the crossed action between the channels.
I hope this helpfull for HT-dual reply or repair.

Ciao (from Italy, Marco

For this message the author amfarina has received thanks: 2
atreidesheir (11 May 2013, 14:09), nzCdog (11 Sep 2015, 04:38)
amfarina
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 09:57
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby vic » 14 May 2013, 06:05

- Will you excuse my lack of perspicacity - can anyone tell me witch is the Clean / Crunch switch on the posted schematics of Blackstar HT Dual ? - Thank you !
Now... the big challenge (for me...) :
Since Blackstar HT Dist and HT Dual share the same platform - can be the first "updated" to become the second adding the missing components on its pcb's ?
I already have the HT Dist.
I know it's cheaper to buy the Dual - I think it would be a nice try to make Dist become Dual !
-Thank you all in advance !
vic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Aug 2008, 09:26
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby floris » 11 Apr 2016, 09:46

amfarina wrote:Hi
Warning, I found the momentary switches, as drawn in the schematic, are in pushed position, not in released one as normally intended. If you mount these in that position you'll have the crossed action between the channels.

I just replaced the 2 momentary switches on a Blackstar HT Dual and found that the schematic is drawn correct:
The 2 switches SW2 and SW3 are drawn in the Normally Closed position.
SW2 is for channel 1, SW3 is for channel 2.
floris
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 14 Oct 2007, 13:05
Has thanked: 170 times
Have thanks: 55 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby george giblet » 28 Nov 2017, 00:10

IMHO, on the schematics posted around page 3, on "power board" sheet, R54 looks a bit odd. Maybe the circuit is slightly different to what is drawn?
george giblet
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby alexradium » 28 Nov 2017, 13:12

Why?
alexradium
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 260
Joined: 31 Jan 2010, 14:31
Has thanked: 51 times
Have thanks: 53 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby george giblet » 28 Apr 2018, 04:18

Some time back I mentioned R54 looked a bit odd to me as it appears in series with the opamp input.
I have recently come across some photos which resolves this issue. I also spotted a couple of other possible errors:

Here's the fix to teemuk's schematic.
Blackstar DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_00 (DX-1) ISS1 Fix sch.png


Here' the pic I traced:
Blackstar DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_00 (DX-1) ISS1 Fix pic.jpg


I also suspect these problems:

R59 15k not 5k (Blackstar HT-5 has 12k but has different R60)
R63 Looks like 9k1 not 4k7 (Blackstar HT-5 has 10k, which is close)
R65 Can't read. 2k7 maybe OK (Blackstar HT-5 has 2k2 not 2k7)

Here's the pic for R63:
pcb psu DS-2 (DX-1) ISS1 9k1 pic.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by george giblet on 28 Apr 2018, 04:32, edited 1 time in total.
george giblet
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby george giblet » 28 Apr 2018, 04:29

Now for the confusion. It is fairly clear to me those PCB pic matches teemuk's schematic.
However the PCB I got the pics for is a "Blackstar HT-DistX (DX-1)" and the PCB was marked
"DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_00 (DX-1) ISS1".

Note the (DX-1) even though it says DS-2.

I then found a pic claiming to be for a HT-DUAL. Clearly the strip of parts to the right of the 4 diodes (at the middle of the board edge) is not the same circuit as Teemuk's schematic or my pic. This board is marked [DS-2] not (DX-1).

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-bhC0ObUr25U/U ... 6+copy.jpg

So I don't know what is going on here. I'm not familiar with the finer details of the Blackstar products.

The models I've see around are:
Blackstar HT-Dist DS-1
Blackstar HT-Dual DS-2
Blackstar HT-DISTX

I've seen the following PCB markings:

HT-DISTX (DX-1)
pots DS-1_ELEC_ARTW_00 (DX-1) ISS2
psu DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_00 (DX-1) ISS1
pre DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_03 (???) ISS?
tube DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_04 (DX-1) ISS2


HT-DUAL
psu DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_00 [DS-2] ISS2
pots DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_01 (DS-2) ISS2
pre DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_03 (???) ISS?
tube DS-2_ELEC_ARTW_04 (DS-2) ISS?

And presumably a DS-1 with
psu DS-2 ELEC_ARTW_00 (DS-1) ISS1

Notice how the board name doesn't match the product but the bracketed/parenthesized part appears to match.


So the big question is, is teemuks schematic for a HT-DISTX or a HT-DUAL? If it's a HT-DUAL what's going on with the above pics?
george giblet
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Re: BlackStar - HT-DUAL

Postby george giblet » 04 May 2018, 04:15

I found this pic:
https://www.soundside.de/images/BlackstarHtDual.jpg

- two foot switches, so it *is* a dual
- the cab sim in the pic matches Teemuks schematic (and my fixes)
- The (DS-2) etc making on the silk screen appears in the bottom left.
(Not nearer to the middle of the PCB. I there two versions?)
george giblet
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 36 times

Previous

Return to Boutique Stompboxes dissected...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ben N, tomas333 and 24 guests