Toneczar - Openhaus  [traced]

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 17 Jun 2012, 09:22

I'm in the UK and there aren't any (proper) electronic shops in my little town. Thanks for the links, I'll investigate. :thumbsup
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby lefos21 » 17 Jun 2012, 11:07

generalkustard wrote:I'm in the UK and there aren't any (proper) electronic shops in my little town. Thanks for the links, I'll investigate. :thumbsup


Check this out http://www.buy-transistors.com/2n1306.html I just found it. The shipping to UK is ridiculous. I see that it isn't in stock so contact them to order it.
lefos21
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 23:35
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 17 Jun 2012, 21:01

I bought some OC141's last week and tested the HFE this evening, most are in the 150 range, a couple in the 230 range. A pleasant surprise as I didn't really know what I was buying and was kind of expecting to see something mediocre like an HFE of 80. Going to try these in the Openhaus clone if I ever get the thing to work. A crappy 40watt, made in China soldering iron and a roll of lead-free solder isn't the easiest way to proceed..not to mention shaky hands..dammit, I don't even have any flux. :oops:
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby lefos21 » 17 Jun 2012, 21:54

Don't worry it's not so difficult, you'll make it work at last.
Now please someone tell us if it is possible to replace the 604ohm resistor ???
lefos21
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 23:35
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 17 Jun 2012, 23:23

lefos21 wrote:Don't worry it's not so difficult, you'll make it work at last.
Now please someone tell us if it is possible to replace the 604ohm resistor ???

I read through most of the rest of the Openhaus thread, apparently the 604r resistor was a mistake and it's actually a 1M. I checked the photo of the original pedal and sure enough, it's 1M.
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby abfackeln » 18 Jun 2012, 01:03

Are you referring to R29? I'm partially colorblind, but that sure looks like blue/black/yellow/black to me..... R30 is a 1M, however...
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 18 Jun 2012, 13:52

abfackeln wrote:Are you referring to R29? I'm partially colorblind, but that sure looks like blue/black/yellow/black to me..... R30 is a 1M, however...

Oh yeah, you're right, it is 604r..I was looking at the wrong resistor. Where am I going to get a 604r from?
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby abfackeln » 18 Jun 2012, 14:35

Well, you can either tie two values together in series, or you can likely sub something reasonably close. I might have used a 590 in mine, can't remember. Put something in, if it doesn't sound right, swap it out. Never be afraid to experiment! I can't tell you how many times I've used values that were "close" to the schematic (and some nowhere even close), for both caps and resistors.
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby lefos21 » 18 Jun 2012, 16:24

So can I put 2x 300ohm in series and it will be like 600ohm ???
lefos21
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 23:35
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby grrrunge » 18 Jun 2012, 18:13

yep
A true believer in the magic of Sherwood Forest Pedal Pirates
---
New base of operations: http://www.knucklehead.dk
User avatar
grrrunge
Diode Debunker
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 20 Mar 2010, 11:51
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Has thanked: 58 times
Have thanks: 194 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 18 Jun 2012, 19:45

abfackeln wrote:Well, you can either tie two values together in series, or you can likely sub something reasonably close. I might have used a 590 in mine, can't remember. Put something in, if it doesn't sound right, swap it out. Never be afraid to experiment! I can't tell you how many times I've used values that were "close" to the schematic (and some nowhere even close), for both caps and resistors.

I also experiment with different values, but I assumed there must be an important reason for specifying an unusual value such as 604r. Not sure how to use 2 resistors in series on this layout, there isn't much space to add another resistor.
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby lefos21 » 18 Jun 2012, 20:06

So...I think 300+300 is the best solution cause there are common, as cheap as usual and probably you won't see any difference.
Thanks guys for your help!
lefos21
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 23:35
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 19 Jun 2012, 09:30

What are the dimensions/ Hammond part number for the Openhaus clone box?
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby abfackeln » 19 Jun 2012, 11:33

Not sure which layout you're using, but as I stated earlier in the thread, I used the 1590S
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 19 Jun 2012, 12:59

Thanks..Hammond do a lot of different sizes, I just wanted to be absolutely sure.
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 20 Jun 2012, 12:28

I have so far been unable to source electrolytic caps for c1 and c2 according to abfackeln/kusi's vero layout (470nf, 25v) and I'm wondering from some of the pics of various people's "Openhaus" builds if 470nf is wrong and maybe it should be 470uf, there is at least one image on here with 470uf caps and others that look very large. Can anybody put me straight on this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby Ang3lus » 20 Jun 2012, 20:48

those are filter caps, should be uF, you can try 220uf, maybe it's enough.
Ang3lus
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 19 Dec 2009, 14:13
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 13 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby abfackeln » 20 Jun 2012, 23:42

The parts list I included with the original schematic (back on page 7) shows 470uf/25v for C1 and C2. I didn't do the vero layout, so I can't take credit for that one (I suck at working with vero!)
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 21 Jun 2012, 08:14

Thanks, you've been a great help. :applause:
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Toneczar - Openhaus

Postby generalkustard » 22 Jun 2012, 17:28

OK, I'm wiring up the pots according to the veroboard layout and I'm a little confused. There is a lead to bass 1 and a lead to bass 2,3.. Is it 2 or 3 or both? Same question goes for treble. :scratch:
User avatar
generalkustard
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 19:05
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Boutique Stompboxes dissected...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Stray and 10 guests