Tycobrahe - Parapedal  [schematic]

Discussion regarding early stompbox technology: 1960-1975 Please keep discussion focused and contribute what info you have...

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby armdnrdy1 » 13 Jun 2015, 03:56

Did you read Jim's post?

I never thought to check your resistor values because ...I thought you would have double checked that before ever asking for help.

with R14 a 1K instead of a 1M pull down...you are pulling the signal down to ground! No wonder the signal disappears at the beginning of the circuit!
R15 at 1M instead of 1K will effectively block the signal as well.
Then the signal will get sucked to ground at the end of the circuit with R15 as a 1K.

Check ALL component values and change them to the correct, listed values.
armdnrdy1
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 66 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby armdnrdy1 » 13 Jun 2015, 03:58

Not Jim's post... Intripped's post.
armdnrdy1
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 66 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 13 Jun 2015, 04:53

Oh no!! Seems I really swapped the 1K and the 1M resistors …
I have just put them in the right place, but still no sound. I’ll do another check with the audio probe in a few hours and also check all other resistors again…
Thanks so much so far!!
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 13 Jun 2015, 12:44

OK. I have checked the values of all components now and hit every solder connection again.

The result of the audio probe:
Bildschirmfoto 2015-06-13 um 13.40.21.png


The voltages at the opamps are now:

U1:
Pin 1: 3,77 V
Pin 2: 2.32 V
Pin 3: 1.368 V
Pin 4: 00.1 mV
Pin 5: 1.368 V
Pin 6: 2.83 V
Pin 7: 2.38 V
Pin 8: 7.80 V

U2:
Pin 1: 7.05 V
Pin 2: 1.335 V
Pin 3: 1.368 V
Pin 4: 00.4 mV
Pin 5: 1.368 V
Pin 6: 1.363 V
Pin 7: 7.07 V
Pin 8: 7.78 V
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby armdnrdy1 » 13 Jun 2015, 14:56

Okay...

You still have something going on.

The voltages from your reply @ 17:15 had the reference voltage at 2.9V...now it's down to 1.3V.

Pull the op amps and take voltages again.

Take a close up picture of the whole component side of the board.
armdnrdy1
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 66 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 13 Jun 2015, 15:24

Voltages without op amps:

U1:
Pin 1: 4.43 V
Pin 2: 2.60 V
Pin 3: 4.82 V
Pin 4: 00.0 mV
Pin 5: 4.82 V
Pin 6: 4.75 V
Pin 7: 4.78 V
Pin 8: 8.37 V

U2:
Pin 1: 4.81 V
Pin 2: 4.82 V
Pin 3: 4.82 V
Pin 4: 00.0 mV
Pin 5: 4.82 V
Pin 6: 4.82 V
Pin 7: 4.75 V
Pin 8: 8.37 V

IMG_5456.jpg


On the left in the heat shrink tubing there’s a a 180 K and a 470 K resistor in series to get the desired 650 K for R1. I also tried it with a single 680 K, but it didn’t change anything.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 15 Jun 2015, 11:21

Do you think the op amps are damaged, since there is no signal at output B at U1 (pin 7)?
Should I just get new ones and try again? Or could there also be another problem (more damaged components)?
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby armdnrdy1 » 15 Jun 2015, 14:15

At this point....I'm out of ideas.

I would get rid of the sockets for the resistor and diode. Solder those components to the PCB directly.

There seems to be intermittent bias voltage issues at pins 3 and 5 of the op amps.

Some voltage readings are in the ballpark and then next readings the bias is off.

You can try new op amps but....I think the problem is elsewhere.

Keep on it and if you don't get it going soon...I would start from scratch with a new board.

It's not that large of a circuit so...strike this one up as a "ghost in the machine!"
armdnrdy1
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 66 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby kymar » 15 Jun 2015, 15:09

I think you turned this thread in Pedal Debugging & Troubleshooting Support.
kymar
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 15:49
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 13 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 15 Jun 2015, 15:33

OK, thank you so much for all the help!
I’ll have another try with new op amps and soldering the components to the PCB directly. And if it still doesn’t work, I’ll try to get the layout on a breadboard and then on a stripboard.
I could also try the positive ground schematic then.
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby armdnrdy1 » 15 Jun 2015, 15:35

kymar wrote:I think you turned this thread in Pedal Debugging & Troubleshooting Support.


Was that really a necessary comment?

Are you the forum police?

:horsey:
armdnrdy1
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 14 times
Have thanks: 66 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby kymar » 15 Jun 2015, 17:01

Unfortunately there is no any police here
kymar
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 15:49
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 13 times

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 20 Jun 2015, 16:29

I think I found the mistake. My pot wiring (I had posted a pic of it here) is completely wrong. Pot A is Pot B and Hot is Cold ... :slap:
I'll change it tomorrow and let you know if it works.
Maybe this was not the only mistake, but perhaps the last mistake left :)
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 25 Jun 2015, 15:31

Since the board is still not working, I have reconstructed daverdave’s vero layout based the geofx schematics and the small preview image of the vero layout which was still on Google.
This one’s positive ground now.
I’ll build this next week.
Parapedal.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 03 Jul 2015, 10:09

YES! It works! Sounds amazing! :D
I have added a negative voltage inverter to the stripboard (http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.de/2012 ... erter.html). Daisy chaining on the pedal board also works fine now.
Thanks again for all the help!
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JebemMajke » 28 Jul 2015, 15:03

What other diode i might use?

Great work btw
JebemMajke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 May 2011, 14:10
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JebemMajke » 01 Apr 2018, 21:22

It has been almost 3 years since I made it.

It is like ... wow ... the greatest wah for what i need. :)

Guys, what pots do you use?

I've been through all kinds, cheap, expensive, plastic, metal ... they all go bad after 2-3 months of usage.

I've read on the other forum that some guys suggest led/ldr conversion.

How?
JebemMajke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 May 2011, 14:10
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Tycobrahe - Parapedal

Postby JimSalabim » 01 Apr 2018, 22:45

Yes, that would be interesting. I have tried 3 or 4 Alpha pots and It always sounds a bit scratchy while moving the pedal in the lower range. I don’t know if the pots are the problem.
JimSalabim
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 00:00
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Previous

Return to Vintage Stompbox Corner ( ... - 1975)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: higumax and 6 guests